Happy stalk, keep stalking happy stalk*

By some miracle of science or sanity, my semester has been saved. A day full of schedule juggling (and a bit of rule smudging) later, I’m enrolled in a class called Studies in The Essay, which will fulfill my requirement for an extra creative writing class, and a course called American Dramatic Traditions that will work for my American Lit I req. That brings me up to 18 hours, when you add in Shakespeare, Italian, Fiction Writing II, and the screenplay independent study, and I’m pretty happy with it. To say that a giant weight has been lifted from my shoulders is cliche, but also: true.

In other news, the repairs needed on my car were actually LESS than expected (by half! oh frabjous day, this never happens), though now the battery light is blinking on again every once and a while. The dealership swears that this means I should bring the car in, but I’m feeling a bit like until the car stops running, it’s staying with me, particularly since we’ve been through the battery light thing before and a trip to Kansas City (woo-hoo, highway driving) was the cure.

Today in the drama class, we talked about David Mamet’s play Oleanna. I haven’t read the play (first day in class) nor seen the movie, but we watched a clip in class. I need to have a David Mamet film festival, stat. He’s probably in my top 15 people I’d stalk, if I were, uh, a stalker. Or a fly, or invisible. Where stalking = non-threatening. There’s just no way to make having a Top 15 People I’d Stalk list not sound psycho, is there? Sigh. And now you’re wondering if you’re on it, aren’t you? heh heh.

*Extra credit if you know what the original line is.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy stalk, keep stalking happy stalk*

  1. phillyexpat says:

    Happy talk, happy talk, keep talking happy talk. Talk about things you like to do!

    Let me know how you like Oleanna-I like Mamet. He writes dialogue like wielding a machete. I loved Glengarry, Glenross.

  2. kepkanation says:

    My Glengarry, Glenross experience was so weird that I really need to see it again. Really, I’m a sucker for the Mamet/William H. Macy combination, which means I will probably adore Oleanna. If I can find it to rent…!

  3. minnaleigh says:

    And now you’re wondering if you’re on it, aren’t you? heh heh.

    Actually I was feeling a little sad that I’m not cool enough to be on that list!

    I’m really glad to hear that you’ve managed to work things out to get all the requirements for the English degree.

  4. therealjae says:

    Congratulations on working things out! You’ll get a degree yet, m’dear.

    -J

  5. kepkanation says:

    Hey, you never know, the list is a mysterious place. The people change all the time. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Thanks! I, too, am glad to have the degree nailed down.

  6. kepkanation says:

    Thanks! Technically, even if I fail everything this semester, I can graduate at any time with a Bachelor’s of General Studies in Political Science. Completing Italian guarantees me a B.A. in PoliSci; the English is just the icing on the collegiate cake. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. starstraf says:

    WOOOO WOOOOOOO

  8. simplelyric says:

    By some miracle of science or sanity, my semester has been saved.

    ::cheers:: Yay on the lower repair cost, too.

Leave a Reply

