Here, Dustin Hoffman Dustin Hoffman Dustin Hoffman, here, boy!

I have so many random thoughts about the Oscar nominees, but for now I’m going to contain myself… at least until I’ve seen a few more of the films. I’ve rented Maria Full of Grace to watch sometime in the next week, and as I didn’t make it to KC tonight to see Ray, I will have to wait for it on video (Feb. 1) to complete my Best Picture Nominee viewing. I was 13/24 at the Golden Globes — the biggest surprise for me was Clive Owen winning Best Supporting for Closer. I really thought that was solidly Thomas Haden Church’s award, and I hope (though I’m not sure if I’d bet) that it is his Oscar. One general comment: Was there a dearth of good roles for women this year in major releases, or what? Almost no one I know has seen even a fraction of the pictures that the Best Actress nominees were in, and a few of the supporting roles are, to me, shockingly small. I would really like to see Vera Drake, but if it’s opened anywhere closer than New York, I have yet to find it.

Biggest surprise: Clint Eastwood’s nomination for Best Actor. I don’t know why it surprises me, it just… does. Second biggest surprise: No mention of Closer (excepting Clive Owen), even though it’s a surprise I’m not unhappy about. I am surprised that Mike Nichols isn’t up for director while Taylor Hackford and Mike Leigh are, but having not seen either Ray or Vera Drake, I have no basis for my surprise.

Movies 2005: The updated list so far.
1. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
2. Ocean’s Twelve
3. Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events
4. Kinsey
5. The Aviator
6. Million Dollar Baby
7. Hotel Rwanda
8. Being Julia
9. In Good Company
10. Racing Stripes

That’s right, I saw the talking zebra movie. It was cute and a matinee and shut up. Dustin Hoffman, I’d watch that man act like a tree. If I get a dog, I think I might name him Dustin Hoffman and then always refer to him with both names. As in, “Dustin Hoffman and I went for a walk yesterday, and Dustin Hoffman got really excited and chased a cat up a tree. Silly Dustin Hoffman.”

Now to eat cheese and crackers and perhaps read The Taming of the Shrew.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Here, Dustin Hoffman Dustin Hoffman Dustin Hoffman, here, boy!

  1. tmseay says:

    I really wish Paul Giamatti had gotten a nod for his work in Sideways, but I guess it wasn’t to be.

    You’ve got me completely outpaced! I’m at seven movies on the year, and that’s including DVDs. When I get my car’s registration dealt with, I’ll have to take a cinema blitz and leave you in the dust. Or, you know, something. 🙂

  2. phillyexpat says:

    This has been a phenomenon for awhile now. I feel like women tend to have stronger parts in independent and “art” films. Which means, alas, these films don’t get wide release. Look at Blue Sky, Passion Fish, etc.

  3. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, I would have liked to see Paul Giamatti up, too, but I had a guess he’d be overlooked. I just saw that he’s signed on for some new film this year that looks good — wow, that was a pointless sentence, as I can’t remember any of the details past “Paul Giamatti” and “new film” and “looked good.” So, good story, me.

    Have you already seen House of Flying Daggers? I think and I were talking about seeing the 4:40 today at Liberty Hall, if you’d like to add to your list for 2005 (but no rush on that, I’m OK with winning the cinema war so far… even if I’ve had to see a talking zebra to do it!).

  4. tmseay says:

    What a shame I missed you folks — I was thinking of seeing that movie at the late show tonight. I’m swapping over to Million Dollar Baby instead, methinks…

    Cinema war! En garde!

  5. simplelyric says:

    I’m glad you thought Racing Stripes was cute. Michael Rosenbaum, currently of Smallville fame, also does one of the voices in that movie, so I’ll most likely see it at some point as well.

  6. kepkanation says:

    It’s very much a kids movie made for kids, not to be confused with the Shrek/Incredibles line of movies. So yes, cute was the perfect word!

  7. simplelyric says:

    I really enjoyed The Incredibles, but I haven’t been that keen on either Shrek movie. I didn’t find those as funny as others do. (And I want to know what the people behind those have against birds, because they seem to like doing nasty things to birds.)

Leave a Reply

