Seven hundred voices in my house

My mother is visiting for the weekend, which is a Good Thing. We always have a good time and usually get to do not only a couple of things I never do when I’m just hanging out with me, but also things that I’ve been putting off doing for lack of in-house assistance. Plus, I love my mom. Let us never forget that.

The one immediate difference that I notice when my mother visits is the immediate volume increase in the house. I woke up this morning to the sound of two TVs running at the same time — the one downstairs and the one in my computer room. I realize that when I’m here by myself, I have very little noise. More and more, recently, I’ve given up using the TV as background noise, preferring instead music or, gasp, silence. So waking up to hearing two different shows, both at high volume, and then also the sound of my sister talking on the phone and my mom buzzing about really reminded me that, more and more, I’m beginning to wonder if I’m at all equipped to live with other people anymore. Quite a reversal from my old-time love of dorm life. I like my hermity home, oh yes I do.

Other big news: Finally, I have talked to my dad about plans for next year. To quickly review, Dad has been a big fan, even a proponent, of the idea that I might go to law school and be a lawyer. I think a great deal of his excitement for this comes out of some of his parental panic, worry that I’m not going to have enough money (or not going to marry someone with enough money) to be happy and secure, as money very much = happiness and security to him. Anyway, I have been hesitant to tell him that these plans are at best on hold, but most likely cancelled, as my interest in actually being a lawyer is not nearly as strong as my interest in attending law school. So we talked earlier in the week, and he asked where I was at with law school applications, and I said, at first, a bold “Nowhere,” but then quickly corrected myself, during his surprised silence, to, “Uh, the application is due March 1.” Yes, I kept leading him to believe that I was still going, because I kept thinking, we’ll just have a face-to-face conversation about this. Because I put off EVERYTHING. Anyway, he called this morning and he said something like, “I get the sense that you don’t really want to do this law school thing, and I wanted to say, I just want you to do what you want to do. I don’t want to push you into anything, and I want you to choose something that makes you happy.” And that was a fabulous present, and although I knew that my parents are both very serious about the fact that they want for us what we want for ourselves, it’s always so nice to hear it again.

In short, I’m feeling a lot of love for my parents at the moment. Rock on, Mom and Dad.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Seven hundred voices in my house

  1. therealjae says:

    Well, I’ll be damned. Good for you, Dad.

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    yeah, he’s a keeper. 🙂

  3. simplelyric says:

    I find myself using the TV as background noise way too often. Usually, the other thing I’m doing is something like Solitaire (on which I shouldn’t bother spending time anyway) or writing/editing (on which I should focus more while doing it). So I really ought to school myself just to turn off the damn TV. =P

    ::cheers for your parents::

  4. kepkanation says:

    I find myself using the TV as background noise way too often

    I do it, too. It’s a good thing when I’m wasting time anyway, but definitely a distraction the rest of the time. Also, it’s why I’ve seen EVERY “Law & Order” ever.

Leave a Reply

