Death Cab has entered the building

On a less MAGICAL note, I bought another CD today. I think that puts me up to maybe two store-bought CDs since January. Picked up Death Cab for Cutie’s Transatlanticism today at Hastings. Mmm so good. It’s mostly on a theme of long-distance relationships (hence the name). And I envy the song titles for their ideas — “The Sound of Settling,” for instance. Can I name my book that?

First impressions: I really, really like this album. There’s a Ben Folds (Five) feel to it — maybe I’m just making that connection because “Brick” was on the radio this afternoon just before I put the CD in, but it’s also something to do with the lead guy’s voice and songs like “Title and Registration” and “Expo ’86” – which has a great, great chorus, “I am waiting for something to go wrong,” that could fit very nicely on Whatever and Ever Amen. I mean, I’ve had this CD for about 12 hours and I already know half the lyrics.

So, does anyone have any great musical suggestions for me? Where do I go if I love and devour Death Cab for Cutie? The Postal Service? Modest Mouse? The Shins? Those are the directions Amazon would point me in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Death Cab has entered the building

  1. tmseay says:

    Hmm. My musical tastes are not so much wide-ranging as nonexistent, but it does sound like you and I have vaguely similar likes. Some of my recent favorites along those lines are Fountains of Wayne, Yellowcard, and… yeah, The Shins are always worth a listen, although they alternate between too mellow and too shrill for my tastes.

    Oh, as for the ticket thing — if doors open at 4:30, what if we meet at, say, 4:00 at Java Break? My guess is that lines’ll begin accumulating well before 4:30, so I’d like to get to Liberty at least a few minutes ahead of time…

  2. phillyexpat says:

    Yes to the Shins! Love love love them. You might also like The Eels.

    I saw Death Cab for Cutie years ago-they opened for my friend’s band at 9:30 club. They rock.

  3. next_bold_move says:

    Would you bring that one to poker as well? 😀

    I have a great love for the Weakerthans, if you haven’t heard them. Their lyrics are wicked smart.

  4. next_bold_move says:

    So jealous! You’ll have to take good notes about what Dr. Dean has to say, since I’m dying to know.

    Did you see that the bookclub has actually selected a book?

  5. tmseay says:

    Shock! That’s great!

    Do we have a meeting date, too, or can I stand back up from where that feather knocked me over?

  6. next_bold_move says:

    Not at this time, so it’s save to stand up.

    I was waiting a little to see if we would get a larger response. If it’s just the three of us, we’ll have more flexibility.

  7. kepkanation says:

    4 p.m. at Java Break sounds great! See you there.
    Yellowcard I’ve liked in the past, and I’ve heard good things about Fountains of Wayne recently. Thanks for the suggestions!

Leave a Reply

