Pics and fitness

Here are my userpics. Everyone else is doing it, maybe I should, too. If you’re curious about what they are or what they mean, ask. Looking through them, I’ve realized that most of them are a kind of code, and maybe I’m the only one that gets some of them. That’s oddly appropriate.

For the third day this week, I went to the gym. Yay. I’m going to try and keep up the every-other day thing for a while and slowly ease up to going more often, just so I can use my groovy Ben Stiller/Starsky icon more often. Weight-training every other day is what you’re supposed to do, right? My mother always asks, after or as I go through some new health kick, “Do you notice a difference?” This is a particularly interesting question right now. First, I can say, from going to the gym, here’s the difference: I’m much more tired after I get home. Heh. And the next day, I want to burn down the third (ground) level of Wescoe hall so that I don’t have to climb the stairs to class.

In a larger health note, on October 20, I stopped eating meat*. I don’t particularly consider myself a vegetarian, because I’m not particularly careful about my consumption of things — I check some labels and stuff, but I don’t care whether my food touched someone else’s meaty wonder. The question I get about this is usually, “Why?” and I wish I had a better answer. The truth is, I’m not sure. I think there were a few factors, and I came home from a trip to Missouri, having eaten a big pork chop dinner, and couldn’t make myself bite into another hamburger. I don’t have any kind of “vegetarian agenda,” I’m not grandly opposed to humans eating meat or anything like that. I think the food chain is great. I just don’t want to bite into anything, uh, fleshy, right now. I have high hopes that someday, I will look at meat and not go “ah! no!” because I miss the taste of steak (until I start thinking about biting into it and the juices and… aaaaugh). I haven’t actually written anything about it before because I figured it would be a short phase.

This has caused me to reconsider my entire diet, which used to consist of a great deal of fast food cheeseburgers. Now, I eat about five things over and over, with some variety: black bean burgers, macaroni and cheese, scrambled eggs, cheese pizza, and salad. I also have a lot of spaghetti. The problem with not eating meat is that my protein intake, which was never where it was supposed to be anyway, shrunk significantly. So, for the first month or two, I paid close attention and ate lots of cottage cheese (excellent, excellent source of protein: 15g in a 1/2 cup!) and Luna protein bars and other proteiny stuff. At that point, I was also going to the gym pretty regularly, and really, I felt great.

Then Christmas break hit, and I went into a slump. No gym, lots of junk, and on and on. Well, now, I’m back to making a bit more of an effort. Yay.

*Two exceptions, both the same thing. At Christmas, I ate my dad’s lasagna, because the meat was all ground up and he’d worked somewhere near 6 hours on the thing. I later turned down my grandmother’s baked sausages and Bierocks, though.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pics and fitness

  1. therealjae says:

    Do you need advice on good proteiny things to eat that aren’t meat-based? I’m not vegetarian, but I don’t tend to eat a lot of meat, and I work hard at getting enough protein from veggie and grain sources.

    -J

  2. starstraf says:

    you are awsome with you gym attendence, I hope to get back to going more frequently. Yeap every other day is the ideal.

    I find it amusing that I have lunch with you fairly regularly but had no idea you had stopped eating meat.
    some answers to ‘why’
    ‘Digestion issues’, ‘just feels right for now’, ‘trying to eath healthier’

    can you explain the “im the man”

  3. kepkanation says:

    I’ve only been awesome this week! We’ll see what next week (and tomorrow) brings.

    We’ve eaten mostly pizza recently, so that’s pretty easy not to notice — cheese pizza (and spinach) was always one of my favorites, anyway.

    The “I’m the man” graphic comes from a Law & Order coloring book that I found online. That’s the police lieutenant pictured, and it’s something she has said on the show, imnplying that she’s “the man” in the way that the government is “the man.” I don’t use it very often, but I’ll use it when talking about Law & Order or when I’m making some rant/comment about living by myself/being my own government, basically, or sometimes just because it makes me laugh.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Yes! I would love to hear any suggestions you might have.

  5. therealjae says:

    Well, much of the key for me has been substituting wheat pasta for pasta with a much higher protein level (almost any other grain has higher, but especially high are grains like quinoa and a couple of others). You can buy stuff like that in good grocery stores or health food stores. I also eat a lot of edamame (Japanese soy beans) as a vegetable, instead of green beans or stuff like that. It’s SUCH a good protein source, and very yummy. Soy anything is good in that way, actually.

    There are probably more creative things you can do, but those are nice and easy ones that you can incorporate into an existing lifestyle without really changing anything. And they’re very quick, which is a plus when you come home very hungry.

    -J

  6. simplelyric says:

    Er, who/what is “oweneli”? What does the “music club” icon mean to you? And, although I feel like I really should know who the guy in the TiVo icon is, I don’t.

    Have you tried Morningstar Farms fake-meat products? Most are fantastic. If you’d like, I can check with my sister about some of her favorite vegetarian recipes. I have some, too, but I haven’t made most of them yet. This has been a good source of interesting things to try.

    I’ve been going to the YMCA to exercise about 2-3 times per week since the beginning of the year, and so far, I’ve *gained* weight. Arghh.

  7. kepkanation says:

    1). Who.what is “oweneli”?
    It’s Owen Wilson as Eli Cash in the movie The Royal Tenenbaums. Generally, since Eli Cash was basically a weird hack-writer in that movie, I use it when I’m feeling somewhat similar, or just feeling sort of navel-gazey about my writing. I also sometimes use it for references to Wes Anderson movies and… randomly at other times when a writer in a corner seems appropriate. At the time I got it, I had no other writing icons.
    2). The music club icon is the back CD cover art from Sheryl Crow’s Tuesday Night Music Club, and I use it for posts about music. I like it because it has my name in it. 🙂
    3). The guy with the TiVo is Higgins, from “Magnum P.I.” — the former obsession and now namesake of my TiVo.

    I have tried and very much enjoy the Morningstar stuff — their black bean burgers are personal favorites, and the not-chicken patties are very tasty. Thanks for the link! Any recipes you want to pass on would be appreciated.

    I’ve heard from others about the initial weight-gain problem (I may have it myself, but I refuse to go near a scale); maybe it’s the old muscle-weighs-more-than-fat thing? But yay for going to the Y! Do you sing the song in your head ever (or out loud)?

  8. simplelyric says:

    Re #1: Ah. I wasn’t looking hard enough to recognize Owen Wilson in that icon. It’s been quite some time since my one viewing of that movie.

    Re #2: I should’ve known that. In fact, I think I *did* know that, and just completely forgot.

    Re #3: Hee. I wasn’t going to name mine, as I rarely name inanimate objects. The TiVo site was going to call it by part of its identity code, though, and it deserved better, so mine is now Sam Donovan.

    I’m glad you’re already a fan of Morningstar. =) I’ll check with the sis about recipes and dig up some of the better-sounding ones I have.

    I don’t think I could’ve developed enough muscle yet to explain the weight gain, unfortunately, although I considered rationalizing it that way.

    No, I don’t sing the song, because that song drives me *nuts*. When the sis, the brother-in-law, and I opened our envelopes with gift memberships to it for the year at Christmas, and we realized what they were, I said that the first person who intoned any part of the song would get something thrown at them. }:-)

Leave a Reply

