get your drunk on

Is it wrong that for the first time ever, I’m seriously considering skipping my evening class to just get drunk? It’s election day and somehow, being completely and chemically unaware of everything happening seems almost patriotic.

Alas, I will not really do it, as I don’t even know what the Bar of Choice would be for this. I do know exactly where I’d go in D.C., and who I’d go with. An evening like this (no class skipping, though, because they’d been canceled) did wonders for me once upon a time. Oh also, this is not the class that I want to miss.

In my morning class, I finally piped up today. It was nice. I’ll do it again. Interesting note: the professor in there noted last time that, in any class with more than three students, “one of them will hate your guts. And it’s often the one you least suspect.” Which led me to wonder if my current crew of instructors/professors have selected someone in each class that they believe is that hateful student, which led me to the conclusion that, in probably 3 of my six classes, there’s a fair chance that the instructor believes it’s me. I will say this: one of them isn’t totally wrong.

If you haven’t already, please rush on out and vote. I recommend a resounding NO on the marriage amendment. And if you need a ride, let me know. I’ll gladly play shuttle to the polling place of your choosing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to get your drunk on

  1. therealjae says:

    That quote from your professor is SO FUCKING TRUE. Every last word.

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    The more I think about it, the more I figure it must be. He went on to say that most of the time, it’s just something that can’t be helped — that there’s just an instant “non-click” from day one that just gets worse as time goes on. Really an interesting thing to say in class, too — because then I started looking around and wondering who it was.

    I actually know (from meeting with him) that he did think, until just before Spring Break, that I was this student.

  3. simplelyric says:

    in any class with more than three students, “one of them will hate your guts. And it’s often the one you least suspect.”

    See, my own fear of that being the case is one of the significant reasons I’ve been sure for years that I don’t want to teach.

Leave a Reply

