The mean streak was cute until I made my mother cry.

If you were in the greater Kansas area around, oh, 9:55 p.m. tonight, that gigantic BOOM you heard was my head exploding. Fucking morons in my state with their fucking hatred and their predictable but somehow still shocking intolerance. And then, to top things off, my poor mother, who told me the news, had to take the brunt of my reaction, which included a solemn swear that I was going to have to get the hell out of Dodge (which is sooooo in my state, I get to use that cliche because it became cliche for a reason, who wants to stay in Dodge City?), by which I mean the Midwest, ASAP. Apparently my vague talk of going away for grad school hadn’t sunk in yet, and so there was crying. Oh joy.

I have GOT to find some kind of pastime through which I can release some of my pent-up hostility, or my poor fiction writing class is going to have to read a 57-page story that will combine the themes of my last story (let’s call them “Protagonist Needs to GET THE FUCK OUT OF KANSAS” and “Protagonist RANDOMLY STARTS WANTING TO KILL PEOPLE”) with new and exciting things like NRA membership, the ways to start a militia, and possibly the random theivery of candy from babies — but only if the babies are GAY, in which case they shouldn’t be allowed to have candy or happiness.

No, really. BOOM. I either need to start venting about politics again — and find a good columnist slot somewhere — or I’m going to have to take up kickboxing. Amish kickboxing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The mean streak was cute until I made my mother cry.

  1. therealjae says:

    Oh, dear. I’m so sorry.

    -J

  2. dine says:

    oh, I’m so sorry. hope you get out of Dodge soon!

    I just had to ask – does Amish kickboxing involve special moves, or is it actually kickboxing Amish folks?

  3. webcowgirl says:

    Maybe you should get a job writing screeds for the paper at KU?

  4. valkyriemoon says:

    that sucks 😦 things like that make me so mad…
    but on the other hand: California court upholds domestic partner law

  5. next_bold_move says:

    At least you live in a good CITY. (I know, that’s not much, but it’s all I have to console me at the moment.)

  6. kepkanation says:

    Since when has estrogen been a problem for him?
    Hahaha. Word. Tell him my laptop is a boy (Herbie), or at least presents as one — that should count for something.

    Can we get a community cat?

  7. simplelyric says:

    I read an article saying that in your city, at least, the ban was vehemently opposed, and I thought of you.

  8. kepkanation says:

    It’s true, in Douglas County we voted a resounding NO. Thus this county is now the only acceptable place to hang out in Kansas… which has really been true for a while.

  9. kepkanation says:

    It helps, absolutely, to be in Lawrence. At least Douglas County gave a resounding NO.

  10. kepkanation says:

    And Connecticut, I believe, has said OK to civil unions, so there’s sunshine in other parts of the world.

  11. kepkanation says:

    I think I’m over my college column-writing days; also, I’m not allowed to write for the student newspaper so long as I work in the newsroom at University Relations.

  12. kepkanation says:

    I’m debating exactly how Amish kickboxing would work. I think it would just be wearing Amish-approved dress while fighting, never cursing, and probably boxing only in places without electricity.

  13. kepkanation says:

    I should have seen it coming. Alas.

Leave a Reply

