Kingdom of Heaven

I went this afternoon to see Kingdom of Heaven. I’m starting to wonder if I’ve been away from MTV for too long, because the clip-clip-clip method of movie-making really doesn’t work for me anymore. This movie wasn’t a big offender — most of the transitions were smooth — but it still felt jumbled, too much information stacked into too little movie. I’ve decided, though, that Jeremy Irons is currently on my Top 10 Actors list — he just never disappoints me. Orlando Bloom was good, and even did all right with looking older and world-weary and all that, but his character wasn’t well-developed for me. None of them really were. Eh. Maybe I was just in a critical mood. It was, as said, very pretty.

So that’s #32. I need to see 20 more movies in the theater to meet my 52 movie goal for the year. I think it’s time I updated my want-to-see list.

May
Definitely:
Crash
Kicking and Screaming
Madagascar

Perhaps:
Off the Map
Star Wars: Episode III
The Longest Yard
Layer Cake

June
Definitely:
Cinderella Man
Lords of Dogtown
Mr. and Mrs. Smith

Perhaps:
Batman Begins
Heights (if I can find it)
Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – really only for Bradley Whitford.

July
Definitely
The Wedding Crashers
Hustle and Flow – if I can find it
Happy Endings – if I can find it
The Brothers Grimm

Perhaps:
War of the Worlds
The Bad News Bears
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Must Love Dogs
The Aristocrats

August
Definitely:
The Pink Panther
3001
Everything is Illuminated – if I can find it
The Constant Gardener – if I can find it

Perhaps:
The 40 Year-Old Virgin
Romance and Cigarettes

September
Definitely:
Syriana
The Weather Man (whenever it releases)

Perhaps:
The Great Raid
Corpse Bride
Roll Bounce
Uh, Serenity, so I’m not shot

October:
Definitely:
In Her Shoes
Elizabethtown
Kiss, Kiss, Bang, Bang

Perhaps:
Untitled Niki Caro Project
Legend of Zorro
Waiting…

And then things get even more sketchy:
November:
Def:
Jarhead
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Perhaps:
Rent
Walk the Line
The New World
Ice Harvest

December:
Def:
Fun with Dick and Jane
Rumor Has It
Brokeback Mountain

Perhaps:
King Kong
The Producers
The Chronicles of Narnia

I know there are others, but they weren’t on the convenient IMDB list. If I saw all the definites only, I’d be at 54 for the year. So that would be fine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Kingdom of Heaven

  1. phillyexpat says:

    I’m looking forward to Hustle and Flow (the prieview in front of Crash was really well done) and Happy Endings also. I thing HaF will get a huge youth marketing push, so it should have a fairly wide release for an indie.

  2. next_bold_move says:

    As always, I want to see many of these, so don’t be afraid to drop me a line. 🙂

  3. ellenneithernor says:

    I haven’t heard of a lot of these but I’m definitely excited (in an embarrassing way) for the “Everything is Illuminated” movie. That, and geekily sad that “Happy Endings” doesn’t seem to have anything to do with the Margaret Atwood short story of the same name…

    I feel really out of it, so I’m going to bookmark this post and actually find out what some of these babies are. Thanks for sharing! I feel very in the loop.

  4. casapazzo says:

    You could definitely tell that KoH was supposed to be a 3hour+ movie – they had to cut it down a fair bit for theatrical release, and it showed. Though a couple folks in various interviews thought they might do the DVD release as the extended version, which I really really hope is true. Not just for the extra shiny, but for the story’s sake, as well.

    Crash was very excellent. Great soundtrack, too.

  5. starstraf says:

    I’m interested in
    Madagascar
    Star Wars: Episode III
    Mr. and Mrs. Smith
    Batman Begins
    Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants – really only for Bradley Whitford.
    The Brothers Grimm
    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
    The Pink Panther (Pooch)
    Syriana (Pooch)
    Uh, Serenity, so I’m not shot
    Legend of Zorro
    Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

    (Heck, feel free to call us about any movie you want to see)

    Are you and pooch workign out toinght? I have a meeting

  6. ellenneithernor says:

    3001: I practically fell over reading IMDb’s description. Amazing.

    It looks like a pretty good year for summer blockbusters, not TOO many sequels/prequels (I feel Batman Begins is almost exempt from this category because it’s supposed to rock so much).

  7. kepkanation says:

    I just hope Hustle and Flow comes within 50 miles of me. It got really good reviews after, hm, I think it was Sundance, so I hope it will be well-distributed.

  8. kepkanation says:

    I, too, feel some geek embarrassment over my excitement for Everything is Illuminated, in part because I’d love to see someone else’s explanation of the book! heh.

    I am ridiculously excited for 3001. The man who brought me Office Space! Luke Wilson! Military society mockery! Can’t wait.

    It does look to be a good year for the quasi-intelligent blockbuster. And yeah, I get the same thing abotu Batman — it counts as a franchise piece, yet I get the feeling it will attract an audience (like me) that was never very invested in the old movies.

  9. kepkanation says:

    Ahhh, see, I hadn’t read much about KoH before I went; knowing that it was supposed to be so much longer makes me feel more charitable toward it. That will be a good extended DVD to check out.

    Still haven’t seen Crash! Perhaps tonight.

  10. kepkanation says:

    As always, I will keep you in mind for future film viewing. I think the problem is that I rarely know I’m going to a movie until about 15 minutes before it starts, heh.

    And I know I said I was going to the gym tonight, but I am feeling kind of icky — even a three-hour nap hasn’t helped. I think I might try to take it easy, so that I don’t get sick in advance of finals. Have fun, though! Perhaps I’ll catch you next week.

  11. kepkanation says:

    Roger Roger. May I call you Roger?

  12. next_bold_move says:

    🙂

    Not if you expect me to answer….

  13. ellenneithernor says:

    Heh, I see your “never very invested” and raise you a “have only seen bits of pieces of ‘Batman Forever’ and ‘Batman and Robin.'”

Leave a Reply

