On the small screen for the summer

Currently, I can say that I am caught up on one television show in the entire world: “C.S.I.” (the original). I have all but the finale of “The O.C.” waiting for me on TiVo (and the finale is going to be here in June, when Brett visits), I think I’m close to up to date on “Law & Order: SVU,” and I might have “CSI: Miami” waiting for me somewhere, if I can make myself watch David Caruso. I like to use the summer to catch up on all the brainless goodness that network television has to offer, through agressive watching of reruns and, sometimes, through rental of TV series DVDs. If I can find “Without a Trace” on DVD, it’s going to be my first choice, but after that, I’m not sure where to start. I have a previous commitment to getting through some or all of “Homicide: Life on the Streets” soon. That may be a long-term project. So in the short term…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to On the small screen for the summer

  1. therealjae says:

    Hooooomicide. (But you knew I would say that.)

    -J

  2. valkyriemoon says:

    i love homicide! for almost all of it, every friday it was on I went to my friend Dan’s house and the two of us would watch it! For years!

  3. casapazzo says:

    …becuase I am nothing if not predictable…

  4. kepkanation says:

    Homicide: Completely on the list. I am bumping it to the top of my Netflix queue as we speak.

    I learned at trivia the other week that Richard Beltzer holds some kind of record — has appeared in the most number of shows as the same character or something.

  5. kepkanation says:

    Have you seen “Firefly?”

  6. casapazzo says:

    Not in its original run, but I bought the DVDs. Good stuff! (Of course.)

  7. simplelyric says:

    Oh, I have too many suggestions to fit in the other box. I can’t remember which of these you’ve tried already: Desperate Housewives (once my DVD set arrives you could borrow it), Scrubs (1st season DVDs available for borrowing), Cold Case, Crossing Jordan (although I know you’ve already seen a few episodes, you can check out the A&E reruns), Harsh Realm (same deal as Scrubs), life as we know it (same deal as DH), Now and Again (I will happily loan you my tapes of this), The Hollow Men (Comedy Central reruns), The Invisible Man, The Pretender (same as Scrubs), and NUMB3RS (CBS reruns, with the Pilot airing this Friday, I think).

  8. kepkanation says:

    I have seen maybe 1/3 of “Desperate Housewives” from this season and saw most of the first season of “Scrubs” and enjoyed both; I’ve seen sporadic episodes of “Crossing Jordan” and “Cold Case” on A&E. I did watch “Now and Again” when it was on the air, but I should look into seeing all of it again, as I remember enjoying what I did see; and I’m programming TiVo right now to catch some reruns of the others you mentioned! I knew I could count on you for a good list. 🙂

  9. kepkanation says:

    P.S. I have started watching “Lost,” by which I mean I caught what I think was the second episode (somehow managed not to record the re-air of the pilot, but I did see that one live). So far, sooo good. and good music!

  10. simplelyric says:

    Huh. I knew about the Cold Case Files series, but I didn’t even realize they were showing Cold Case on A&E. I wonder if they’ll air more soon so I can catch up on the early first season episodes I missed.

  11. kepkanation says:

    Hm, now I’m confused. I thought I’d seen “Cold Case” reruns, but it’s possible they were just on the regular network. I’ve watched “Cold Case Files” maybe once on A&E, but it was a little too close to “America’s Most Wanted” for me. Heh.

  12. simplelyric says:

    I’ve watched “Cold Case Files” maybe once on A&E, but it was a little too close to “America’s Most Wanted” for me. Heh.

    Yeah, the Files version doesn’t appeal to me for that reason either.

Leave a Reply

