Cinderella Man.

Movie #36: Cinderella Man (sneak preview). There’s so little that I can say about this movie without spoilers, and since I have a lot to say about it, I’ll wait. In summary, I liked this movie better two years ago when it was about a horse and had tiny Tobey Maguire in it. Having to sit on the front row probably turned my mood a little, too. Russell Crowe has nice eyes, though.

One of the nice parts was that the sound was out for the first 3-4 minutes, so the movie ended up being free. Yay free movie! I think I will use my little free ticket to see something particularly silly this week — anyone who wants to see either The Longest Yard or Kicking and Screaming should let me know.

And here’s a funny thing:

In other news, I have been converted to the “Firefly” faithful by . We watched the pilot plus, I think, four episodes (four? or three?) last night, and she will probably find me on her doorstep again soon, begging for additional screenings. πŸ˜‰ Maybe I can get everything watched before the movie leaves theaters? This marks, by the way, my first ever viewing of a Joss Whedon project.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cinderella Man.

  1. tmseay says:

    Oh, thank heavens. If someone hadn’t converted you to the Whedonistic movement soon, I would have had to drop you from my friends list.

  2. next_bold_move says:

    It’s a natural fit, I think, since Jenn seems to have the same sort of sense of humor as the show. πŸ™‚

  3. next_bold_move says:

    It seemed to me from the beginning that Cinderella Man was Seabiscuit with boxing gloves! but I was hoping I was wrong. Would you say it’s worth watching, or no?

    Serenity doesn’t open in the theaters until September, so I think we’ll more than complete the viewing by then. I’m game anytime you are, including tonight!

  4. kepkanation says:

    Yes, secretly Joss Whedon and I have been sharing a sense of humor for a while now. He gets it during the fall and I get it during the spring, and we negotiate on winter and summer based on how behind he is in writing new shows.

  5. kepkanation says:

    It so is Seabiscuit x 2. And I loved that movie, but probably mostly because I loved the book and I love Tobey Maguire — so without either of those things working in Cinderella Man’s favor, the movie was kind of “eh” for me. That being said, if you’re looking for a nicely made underdog story to cry over, this is probably the stand-out movie of the summer in that respect. I knew I was being led down the path to teary-ness, and yet, I did get swept up enough in the story that I forgot.

    I thought Serenity was opening in July, so I’m glad there’s more time than I thought. But rats! I should have checked my e-mail earlier today. Perhaps some other time this week?

  6. next_bold_move says:

    I meant to call later in the day, but I started feeling under the weather. I have a persistent cough that may drive me to the doctor’s yet.

    Any day this week is good for me, except Wednesday. Tomorrow night okay?

  7. kepkanation says:

    Eek! I think tonight is out for me, as I have mucho cleaning (and other nasty chores) to do before the weekend (I have an old friend staying over). If I can get it done between tonight and tomorrow night, perhaps a Thursday viewing?

  8. next_bold_move says:

    Thursday works for me!

    7ish?

  9. starstraf says:

    we have the firefly dvd’s also

  10. kepkanation says:

    Ooo, a second source for the new TV crack! And, hey, I have your hat crocheting instructions still, and when you’re feeling better, we should all go to dinner (if you two still want to) — maybe some evening next week?

  11. starstraf says:

    Yes – sushi dinner!
    Sun, tue, thur ?

  12. simplelyric says:

    I have been converted to the “Firefly” faithful

    Woohoo! FYI, Sci-Fi is supposed to begin airing the episodes on July 22nd, if I recall correctly, so you’ll have the opportunity to watch and/or record them for yourself then. The movie was originally supposed to come out at the end of April, but the release was then pushed back to September. My sister was very disappointed, as she wanted to make a trip to the theaters to see it be the family event for her birthday in early May.

    This marks, by the way, my first ever viewing of a Joss Whedon project.

    Heh. It’s a slippery slope.

  13. kepkanation says:

    FYI, Sci-Fi is supposed to begin airing the episodes on July 22nd,

    Argh, if only I had Sci-Fi Channel. But lucky for me, I know two people in town that have the DVDs.

    I’m still resisting the Buffy viewing.

  14. simplelyric says:

    I’ve been watching some on my sister’s DVDs periodically, but there are still enough episodes I haven’t seen that I very well may watch Sci-Fi’s Firefly airings myself. If you feel like you’d want tapes of the episodes (regardless of whether or not you’d seen all the episodes on friends’ DVDs yet), I could stick ’em on there for you at that point.

    I’m going to see a preview screening of Serenity this Thursday! Eee! (I spent way too much on the tickets but am not going to think about that anymore.)

    I’m still resisting the Buffy viewing.

    I figured. *g* With seven seasons of BtVS and 5 seasons of Angel out there, it’s a lot to dive into, especially if it hasn’t really interested you to begin with. Of course, although I liked the Buffy movie, I was uninterested in seeing the series; then I got into fandom, Giuliana showed me a mini-marathon, and it was all over.

Leave a Reply

