On the sad state of the news today, and current reads

“If Mark Twain were back today, he’d be on Comedy Central, I’m convinced of that.” — Bill Moyers on “The Daily Show.”

I think that is, perhaps, true (the idea being that Mark Twain made political/social points through humor). Then again, I still enjoy The New York Times like crazy, and I wish sincerely that I could get daily delivery to my door in this region. Instead, I look forward to bribing students into getting me one of the free copies every day on campus.

Book I’m reading right now: From Beirut to Jerusalem by Thomas Friedman.
Next two books on my list: Inheriting Syria by Flynt Leverett (or another book on Syria, because I am very interested in knowing more about it) and Salt: A World History by Mark Kurlansky. I had to go to the Engineering library to get the salt book, and… whoa, the engineering library is cool. I could’ve happily studied there… back in the days when I studied.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the sad state of the news today, and current reads

  1. valkyriemoon says:

    let me know how the salt book goes… i was thinkin’ of reading it

  2. tmseay says:

    I’m reading Friedman’s “The World Is Flat” and really enjoying it. I’m kind of surprised; I don’t much like his NY Times column, but I’m finding the book really engaging and interesting.

    Let me know how the Flynt Leverett book is!

Leave a Reply

