Technology that makes my world go ’round

Several pieces of technology are making my life a more joyful little place to be these days.

First, the re-discovery of a variety of fun little features on my beloved Firefox browser has been quite nice. The “live bookmarks” feature is really cool — I now can review all of NPR’s political headlines, all of the big stories from the New York Times, and all the headlines on IMDB’s shameful celebrity news page without browsing anywhere. There they are! Right in my links bar, one click to see them all, another click to visit them. I’ve had the standard BBC headline bookmark for a while, but these new ones just rock. The other feature I love is the ability to plug in additional search engines to the top Google search box. Now I’ve got Wikipedia and IMDB ready to be searched wherever I go. Very handy.

TiVo is still a fun little toy. I’m watching some shows over the summer that I missed during the year, starting with “Lost,” “Veronica Mars,” and “Numb3rs.” I started watching “The Gilmore Girls,” too, but there were too many episodes running at different times, and that one’s already out on DVD. I am enjoying all of the other shows so far, but haven’t seen more than 2 episodes of any of them. I wish that TiVo included episode numbers in its descriptions, but, oh well. Can’t have everything.

What else? Well, the addition of podcasts to the new update of iTunes has been a godsend. Up ’til now, I tried to get podcasts on to my iPod, but it was kind of clunky and difficult. Now I tell it that every time I plug iSis in, I want a fresh copy of the movie review radio show, the book review radio show, and the political news radio show, and it just downloads them and copies them over. Brilliant! Even my local newspaper now offers podcasts of its news; tomorrow I may try listening to this at work (not with headphones, though — I think I’ll plug the iPod into the speakers).

And finally, LJ. Tags are interesting. Both of my downloaded clients — the new fix for Semagic, which is waaaay better than it used to be, on my PC; and the XJournal client for the Mac — support tags. So far I’m adding them as I go, but not doing much backwards tagging.

I’m a little computer-related product endorser tonight. Yay me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Technology that makes my world go ’round

  1. next_bold_move says:

    Maybe we could look into getting the Gilmore Girls from Netflix? I have been wanting to watch that show, but it’s not as fun without company!

  2. kepkanation says:

    Hey, that sounds awesome. Shall I request the first one?

  3. next_bold_move says:

    Sounds good to me. 🙂

  4. simplelyric says:

    There actually *are* episode numbers in some of TiVo’s descriptions, though unfortunately not all of them. Just hit the “Info” button once you select an upcoming episode; it should expand the details, and then you can hit the channel down button to get down to where the episode number is (when it’s included). Sometimes it includes an original airdate as well or instead, and you can try to match that up with episode info someplace like TV.com.

  5. kepkanation says:

    I should learn to look harder before I speak! I’ll check that out — I hope they’re present for “Lost,” as that’s the show I’m really confused about at the moment.

    Did you watch “Numb3rs” last year?

  6. simplelyric says:

    Yep, I watched every episode of NUMB3RS and enjoyed them all thoroughly (which reminds me, I still want to make an icon or two for that). =) I can’t say the same about Lost, although I did watch a little over half the season of that.

    As a reference, Lost‘s episodes in order are:
    1.1 & 1.2-“Pilot” parts 1 & 2 (09/22/04 & 09/29/04)
    1.3-“Tabula Rasa” (10/06/04)
    1.4-“Walkabout” (10/13/04)
    1.5-“White Rabbit” (10/20/04)
    1.6-“House of the Rising Sun” (10/27/04)
    1.7-“The Moth” (11/03/04)
    1.8-“Confidence Man” (11/10/04)
    1.9-“Solitary” (11/17/04)
    1.10-“Raised by Another” (12/01/04)
    1.11-“All the Best Cowboys Have Daddy Issues” (12/08/04)
    1.12-“Whatever the Case May Be” (01/05/05)
    1.13-“Hearts and Minds” (01/12/05)
    1.14-“Special” (01/19/05, the last episode I bothered watching)
    1.15-“Homecoming” (02/09/05)
    1.16-“Outlaws” (02/16/05)
    1.17-“…In Translation” (02/23/05)
    1.18-“Numbers” (03/02/05)
    1.19-“Deus Ex Machina” (03/30/05)
    1.20-“Do No Harm” (04/06/05)
    Extra-“The Journey (04/27/05, recap episode)
    1.21-“The Greater Good” (05/04/05)
    1.22-“Born to Run” (05/11/05)
    1.23 & 1.24-“Exodus” parts 1 & 2 (05/18/05 & 05/25/05)

  7. kepkanation says:

    That’s a little discouraging, in that I’ve apparently missed not only the first show (which I think I watched half of when the series premiered) but also the third show. Hmm. But I hear it’s all coming out on DVD before the next season starts, so maybe I can catch up, then.

    Anywhere you can recommend I go to get a list of the Numb3rs episodes?

  8. simplelyric says:

    Yeah, the Lost DVDs should be out on September 6th, and I doubt season 2 will start before that.

    This should work for NUMB3RS, with this as a less complete (in terms of summaries) back-up.

  9. kepkanation says:

    Yay! Thank you. You are my TV wizard.

  10. simplelyric says:

    ::curtsies::

Leave a Reply

