“Actual potato sold separately!”

All right, I think it’s well known that there’s very little I like as much as self-deprecating humor. Also, it may be known that I sometimes watch “Anderson Cooper 360,” particularly when there are hurricanes involved. Well, my two loves — OK, my three loves, because Jon Stewart is involved — combined today on the AC360 show. It goes like this:

Last night, Jon Stewart (from his new futuristic, somehow Tom-Snyderish set) tackled the hurricane coverage, and mocked away, with one particularly good joke about Anderson Cooper nearly being cut in half by a flying aluminum sign. So, Anderson replayed this bit on his show and agreed that he deserved to be mocked. Then he mentioned two current auctions on eBay that have really made my afternoon: this one, where you can buy the Ramada Inn sign that came flying by/toward Cooper during the hurricane (pictures are promised later on, “as soon as power returns and can use scanner”). And this one, which is way funnier, and purports to actually be Anderson Cooper post-Hurricane Dennis (you can also buy just the brochure version of that one).

Heh. Hehhehheh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Actual potato sold separately!”

  1. therealjae says:

    “AC 360” can’t read as anything but a flight number to me. (Toronto to Boston, as it turns out.)

    -J

  2. simplelyric says:

    I thought of you when Stewart made that joke. *g*

    The yellow background they had on the screen behind him for part of last night’s show must go. Now. ::shudders:: The solid blue was fine; presumably N.Y.C. skyline images were fine; interviewee product images were tolerable. But the scrolling text was very distracting, and the yellow created a vile haze around Stewart. That was blinding.

  3. gotmce99 says:

    The potato went for $330!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You need to get on that and make some funny, weird pop culture shit to sell on Ebay!!

  4. kepkanation says:

    I think what bothers me most in the new set up is the over-the-table interview format. It feels strange to me. I don’t know why. I suppose logically it’s a better set up for semi-serious interviewing than the couch format. Eh. I’m sure the whole thing will grow on me.

    I still wouldn’t turn down a chance to be a guest!

  5. kepkanation says:

    You need to get on that and make some funny, weird pop culture shit to sell on Ebay!!

    I know! I’m all over it. I think I’m going to make some Lou Dobbs Border Guard paper dolls tonight and see how they go over. 😉

  6. simplelyric says:

    Yeah, I’m iffy about the table, too. It does seem more professional, but it also just seems wrong. (Plus, I’m amused to see the shadows of people’s legs underneath it.)

    I still wouldn’t turn down a chance to be a guest!

    Neither would I, although you’d be much more likely to keep up with his wit and commentary than I would. =)

Leave a Reply

