The Fruit Tattoo

Tell me this isn’t a little unsettling:

“With the right scanning technology the produce could even
be bar-coded with lots of information: where it comes from, who grew it,
who picked it, even how many calories it has per serving,” said Fred
Durand III, president of Durand-Wayland. “You could have a green pepper
that was completely covered with coding. Or you could sell advertising
space.”

From “Tattooed Fruit is on the Way” at NYTimes.com.

Speaking of bar-coded fruit, I think it’s time for a pop tart.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Fruit Tattoo

  1. simplelyric says:

    Eek. I don’t think I could be convinced that whatever ink-type substance they used to tattoo the fruit was safe to consume.

    I created an icon the other day that would be so perfect for this comment, but I didn’t upload it yet from my work computer.

  2. kepkanation says:

    1). I think eventually I could embrace the fruit-tattoo ink, because I can’t believe that the glue on the fruit stickers is that good for me, anyway.

    2). Have you now uploaded the perfect icon? Can I see it? (Shameless pitch for a reply, I think)

  3. simplelyric says:

    1) Well, yes, that’s a fair point, I suppose.

    2) Got it. =o)

Leave a Reply

