Winnie is a MATH GEEK

OK, I’m at work and I have my iPod hooked up, listening to Keane (which
may be too mellow for the morning, but it appears that much of my more
energetic music is not, exactly, work-and-public safe), and I’m reading
The New York Times:

  1. Winnie from the Wonder Years is a Math Geek. That’s
    right, she gives free math tips on her Web site, where you may also be
    able to find pictures of her from “The Wonder Years” and Stuff
    Magazine.
  2. Sarah Vowell: “Ask Me About Cleveland,” which is
    basically a push to abolish the electoral college. Right on. A week or
    so ago, was talking about a certain writer who
    made her stop and shake her head in despair over his skill; I sometimes
    have this feeling about Sarah Vowell, who is basically living my perfect
    life and writing everything that I wish I was writing (in the
    non-fiction world). To steal words from someone somewhere, I don’t know
    whether I want to be Sarah Vowell or eat her with fava beans and a nice
    Chianti.
  3. “How Costco Became the Anti-Wal-Mart,” which reads
    almost as an advertisement for Costco. I’ve been doing better on not
    shopping at Wal-Mart recently, having finally reached a point of Outrage
    Saturation over some abuses against employees in the Kansas City area,
    and this story would’ve completely pushed me over the edge and into
    member territory at Costco… if there was a Costco within convenient
    striking distance. There is one up in KC, but… I can’t actually be
    saving that much money if I have to drive all the way to KC to shop
    there (though I understand part of the point of big warehouse-type
    places is that you buy things in such bulk that you don’t have to go
    very often, which would raise another problem for me: where in the hell
    would I store 100 lb boxes of peanuts or whatever?).
  4. And of course, topic of the day: “Scrutinizing John Roberts,” which is a pleasantly
    bland editorial urging, gasp, caution and deliberation in appointing
    this man to the Supreme Court. Here’s the big scary line: The far
    right is on a drive to resurrect ancient, and discredited, states’
    rights theories. If extremists take control of the Supreme Court, we
    will end up with an America in which the federal government is powerless
    to protect against air pollution, unsafe working conditions and child
    labor. There are reasons to be concerned about Judge Roberts on this
    score. He dissented in an Endangered Species Act case in a way that
    suggested he might hold an array of environmental laws, and other
    important federal protections, to be unconstitutional.

And just in case anyone’s wondering, I present the roving meme:
Ask me for “top five” lists of pretty much anything, and I will list
you my top five of that thing or things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Winnie is a MATH GEEK

  1. ellenneithernor says:

    My sister was obsessed with “The Wonder Years” about five years ago. It’s comforting that McKeller is not one of those Childhood Stars All Grown Up Crazy.

  2. therealjae says:

    I love the phrase “outrage saturation”. I will be stealing it.

    -J

  3. next_bold_move says:

    Five top books, please. Break it into fiction and non-fiction, since they’re apples and oranges.

  4. kepkanation says:

    I am pretty proud of that little phrase, actually. It just worked perfectly. Steal away.

  5. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, I was reassured that she’s strange, but not in a bad way, by the whole article. I mean, it seems like there would hardly be time for a drug habit and trashing hotel rooms what with all the math homework.

  6. kepkanation says:

    I knew you’d play along! Next post, all over this.

  7. adriang says:

    I don’t know exactly where you live, but there’s a Costco in Overland park. If you’re on Metcalf, driving South and stick to the parkway that Metcalf turns into just before 119th as if you were going onto Hwy 69 South, you can’t miss the Costco on the left, some distance after the Target on the right.

    Adrian

  8. gotmce99 says:

    Sarah Vowell, yes, yes, yes. I read, I laugh, I learn. Wonderful.

    I bought a Christopher Buckley book on sale the other day and thought of you.

  9. simplelyric says:

    Share your top five politicians and top five items at home, if you please.

    How’s your Sensory Overload story coming? I’ve rejected every even vague idea I’ve had thus far.

  10. kepkanation says:

    I will work on that Top Five list today. I’m still working on the other, so I’ll make it a separate post!

    I haven’t started on the Sensory Overload. I keep forgetting about it, to be honest. Good to have you reminding me!

  11. kepkanation says:

    I need to buy or borrow Assasination Vacation very soon.

    And I’ve been thinking about re-reading Thank You For Smoking for about a month now; I hear they’re making a movie out of it.

  12. kepkanation says:

    I think I’ve seen that one; however, I’m really wishing for one to come to Lawrence. 🙂

  13. simplelyric says:

    I think I finally have an idea, at least for a potentially intriguing central character. Now, I just have to figure out what the hell to do with her!

Leave a Reply

