The Political Funeral

The death of former British foreign secretary Robin Cook, who was not only an interesting figure but a man with a great name (*), made me a bit sad a while back. Today, reading of Mo Mowlam‘s death, I came across a piece about his funeral. Whoa. It’s like something out of a Tom Clancy novel (and now let me explain that: Clancy is adept at action and adventure and military intrigue, but when he plays with politics, it gets ugly and overdramatic fast). A “racing pundit” charging the prime minister with snubbing Cook during his euology? Guh. Very interesting all around.

and and I talked about Tony Blair the other week over dinner, because I had listed Blair in my top 5 politicians and Greg put him in his lowest five. I think sometimes Blair exists on both lists for me — wherever he lands, he’s a warning.

* I have a theory that, perhaps, Tony Blair surrounds himself with ministers simply by picking out the coolest names. Jack Straw! John Prescott! Alastair Darling!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

