Didn’t mean to never reply!

Apparently, after being cited by the New York Times and Dan Rather as doing a bang-up job of reporting for getting angry on air, Anderson Cooper is so cool he no longer even dresses up for work. This, my friends, is an excellent goal. I’m working on it.

Things I need/want right now:

  • Two new short stories, ready by mid-October, for grad school submissions.
  • A concrete list of where I want to apply to (though I’m working on this. I have a spreadsheet).
  • Any kind of concrete assurance that I won’t be throwing over $500 toward getting a pack of rejection letters (this cannot be had).
  • A promise from the universe that no one is going to use that “Houston, we have a problem” line on national television again about the hurricane. YOU MORONS, drop the cliches.
  • Ice cream
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Didn’t mean to never reply!

  1. therealjae says:

    AC360 is a flight from Toronto to Boston. I’m assuming it’s also something else? 🙂

    -J

  2. next_bold_move says:

    When are you going for ice cream?

    By the way, you’re my hero.

  3. kepkanation says:

    Eh,yes. “Anderson Cooper 360,” the show on CNN. They abbreviate it as such on-air, and apparently I’ve adopted it.

  4. kepkanation says:

    I am going for ice cream from about NOW until the end of time, aka, whenever they close.

    And yay! Was it the spreadsheet that made me heroic?

  5. next_bold_move says:

    It’s the grad school thing in general, I think. And the writing, which I don’t do anymore.

  6. webcowgirl says:

    Can you send me some of your fiction so I can read it?

  7. simplelyric says:

    Did you wind up writing anything for that Sensory Overload challenge? (I did, but only a couple days after the official posting date, and my story has been with its beta ever since then.) If so, that could potentially be worked into a grad school submission piece. . . .

    Good luck with your application process. =)

  8. starstraf says:

    tuesday nights from 6-10 are dollar cones at baskin robbins

  9. kepkanation says:

    Wow, so, I was going through my old e-mails and found that I’d missed replying to a bunch of comments, including this one. I have about one story, total of 6 pages, that I’m finished tinkering with at the moment, and if you’d like to read it, still (well, whenever you’re home again), let me know!

  10. kepkanation says:

    One hundred thousand years later, I reply: Nope, didn’t end up writing anything. Good idea, bad execution.

    Is your story up somewhere? I’d like to read it, if so.

  11. simplelyric says:

    Good idea, bad execution.

    Out of curiosity, do you mean that on the challenge creator’s part or on yours?

    Is your story up somewhere? I’d like to read it, if so.

    Actually, the beta still has it. I’ve poked her gently a couple times, but she’s crazy-busy, which makes me feel guilty about doing that anymore. I kind of want to ask if she’d rather I just get someone else to take over, except that I’m afraid she‘ll feel guilty then and force herself into betaing when she might not have the time. And I don’t want to get another beta and post it without telling her first. =/ So, I’m a bit stuck — and obviously much too late to have the fic count for the challenge. Plus, I keep feeling like the story I wound up writing is too cliche anyway and I ought just to have written a completely different story, which I would then have someone else beta. ::facepalms::

  12. kepkanation says:

    Good idea, bad execution.

    Out of curiosity, do you mean that on the challenge creator’s part or on yours?

    Mine. The idea of participating, good; the follow-through, not good.

    Good luck with your beta trouble! Let me know if I can step in and help out in any way.

  13. simplelyric says:

    Mine. The idea of participating, good; the follow-through, not good.

    Ah, okay. I fell behind some on the follow-through, too. Maybe next time, huh?

    Good luck with your beta trouble! Let me know if I can step in and help out in any way.

    Thanks! I’ll keep that in mind, and, even if I don’t seek out your assistance on what I first wrote, I very well might come back and ask you to beta the other original fic idea I’ve been considering writing instead.

  14. kepkanation says:

    My door, er, computer door? Mailbox door? All doors are always open for your work.

  15. simplelyric says:

    And that’s much appreciated.

    Speaking of mailbox doors, did you ever get your belated birthday package?

  16. kepkanation says:

    Oh God! Yes, I did, I did, and I picked it up at my sister’s and squeed and tried to explain its coolness to all the non-readers in my family, and then somehow I forgot to ever say thank you. THANK YOU. I am so happy!

  17. simplelyric says:

    YOU’RE WELCOME! I’m very glad you got it safely, and even more so that you like it. =D I only wish you could’ve been at the event to meet Russo and hear him speak instead of/with me, because I’m sure you would’ve really enjoyed it. He’s a funny guy, even if he does misquote The Princess Bride. (I’ll explain that more the next time we talk via phone or regular e-mail or something.)

    I got a discount ticket for the event through my library job because it was a library function, so that cost was minimal. I figured, though, that flying you out for it might’ve been a little more than you would’ve wanted me to spend on one birthday present.

Leave a Reply

