The Top Ten

In no order:
University of Iowa
University of Indiana-Bloomington
University of Minnesota
Johns Hopkins University University of Maryland-College Park
Syracuse University
University of Alabama
University of Arkansas
The Michener Center for Writing at the University of Texas at Austin
University of Oregon

Today’s feelings: swinging between overwhelmed and despairing and sometimes excited. I try not to let the excitement creep in too much, because I don’t want to get used to the idea that a year from now, I might be somewhere else. The weird part is, the more I work on this, the happier I become with Lawrence. It’s a bad time to be filling out “going away” applications. The weather is nice (for the moment), the town is beautiful, and, beyond all that, I’m really having a good time here. I like the people. I like the town. My job is totally mindless and sometimes that’s wearying, but it’s in no way bad or hard. I’m comfortable, and every time I look at these programs I’m struck with how uncomfortable any move, and any new situation, is going to be. This is probably in part how the University of Maryland managed to creep onto the list, and how no West Coast (or International) schools made the cut — it’s easier to think of moving to someplace that I feel I may understand. The Midwest, the East Coast, the near South. Four of these are schools I’ve visited in the past, for different reasons; two are places where I’ve had family members attend. KU isn’t on the list because I won’t go here again. Not because I don’t like the program or think I’d enjoy it, but because if (when, let it be when) I come back to KU, it’s going to be in a teaching capacity.

In other exciting news, I finally picked up my diploma. Turns out I graduated after all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Top Ten

  1. valkyriemoon says:

    nyu and wash u dropped off the list? i thought they’d be shoe-ins for top 10 credentials

  2. drenilop says:

    Good for you – this is a major step.

    Let me know if you want me to read any drafts of statements or whatever. I’m more than happy to.

  3. kepkanation says:

    There’s a slim chance that NYU will reappear, but it was cut for a few sort of technical details: it had the earliest deadline, the highest application fee, the most requirements, the highest cost of living, just about the lowest acceptance rate, and was second-to-last on my list of “financial aid available.” WashU was #1 on that list.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Ohhh, the personal statement. How I loathe even the thought. But thank you for the offer, I may take you up on it as the process… progresses.

    And I wish you luck on your academic decision; let me know if I can help in any way.

  5. drenilop says:

    I just need a really big hug. But there’s no one around for that, so I’m going to go grade papers instead.

    Cold comfort.

  6. kepkanation says:

    :: virtual hug ::

  7. simplelyric says:

    Ooh, so, that means you might wind up at a school only a few hours from Columbus!

    Trust me to focus on the important things. 😉

    In all seriousness, congratulations on making your selections (and on graduation), and good luck with the applications. I’ll gladly help in any way that I can.

  8. kepkanation says:

    Great, will you write the application essays for me? 😉

Leave a Reply

