This is the way vacation days are supposed to go

I’ve had a glorious day. Veterans’ Day, so no work (woo-hoo!).

I went to Kansas City around 9 (after getting a McGriddle with egg and cheese. I love those things, and yes, I know they’ll kill me. It would be healthier to smoke a McGriddle than eat it, fine, I accept it and special treat day!). There, I picked up my book at the Unity Temple and SAW JIMMY CARTER. Oh yes, the man himself. He signed my book and looked me in the eye and just said, “Hello,” and then “Good morning.” And he was Jimmy Carter and I wanted to pet his hair or something, or say “thank you for being a Democrat that even my father likes,” but I just said thank you and shuffled off stage. Apparently, there may be a photo of this eventually. Jimmy Carter! The sad part is, I think he has pink eye. Poor Jimmy Carter.

Anyway, his book (Our Endangered Values: America’s Moral Crisis) and I and all my excitement then walked around the Plaza for a while. It was gorgeous out today — in the 70s, warm, and all the buildings blocked the wind. I browsed in Barnes & Noble and bought a Christmas present, bought a latte, wandered around Function Junction and Anthropologie looking for things I may want later, and bought three gifts at Urban Outfitters. Then I had lunch on the balcony at Figlio (angel hair pasta with basil pesto cream sauce with roasted red peppers and sun-dried tomatoes) and read short stories that were heartbreaking. Who decided to let Joyce Carol Oates edit an edition of Best New American Voices? She’s way too good at her job.

Then, then! #60: Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang, which I’ve been waiting for since seeing its creator (Shane Black) and its stars (Robert Downey, Jr. and Val Kilmer) interviewed on “Sunday Morning Shoot Out” from Cannes. This movie was awesome. At one point, I was laughing so hard I could barely breathe. And the crowd was very small and mostly retired, and I think they enjoyed it very much, too, particularly a final line: “and to all you good people in the Midwest, sorry we said fuck so much.” Hahahaha. Seriously, this is a good movie. I may have liked it so much because it’s a parody of the buddy-cop, mystery/thriller genre of both movies and books. I mean, there were section headers for the days that were actually titles from Raymond Chandler novels (The Lady in the Lake, Farewell, My Lovely). And Shane Black? He wrote and all of the Lethal Weapon movies. Ah, Lethal Weapon.

I was then supposed to rendezvous with the sister, but plans changed (partly because, heh, I forgot some stuff at home, yay me). So now, rest and relaxation. Also, I decided not to try and crash the GRE subject test tomorrow, because the Princeton Review book at Barnes and Noble reminded me that I’d have fuck-all chance of doing well on it without extensive studying.

Quiz:

Family is most important in your life.

Having a high focus on family indicates that you are a loving and nurturing person. You want to have a nice big family of your own, and you are very close with your siblings and parents.

Life Piechart - QuizGalaxy.com

Take this quiz at QuizGalaxy.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is the way vacation days are supposed to go

  1. therealjae says:

    Jimmy Carter! Woo!

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    It is a milestone to have met someone who I not only consider an icon but of whom I actually have *made* an icon.

Leave a Reply

