GRE: done.

Buying first-ever “study for a standardized exam” book (Word Smart for the GRE by the Princeton Review folks): $13.00

Improving verbal score by 30 points (3 percentage points) over practice test: $0

Improving math score by 120 points using a method I call “not giving a damn”: $0

Learning that I’ve been using the word “prodigal” wrong for at least 10 years: priceless.

There are some things money can’t buy. For the rest, there’s weird irony.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to GRE: done.

  1. next_bold_move says:

    You almost made me spit Coke on my screen!

  2. drenilop says:

    LOL…

    But YAY it’s done!! ::hugs:: good luck on the apps!

  3. webcowgirl says:

    As you’re not prodigal yourself, I could see where the confusion might start.

  4. casapazzo says:

    Hee! Go you!

    And the prodigal thing? Clearly a sign you were never burdened with an overabundance of church-going growing up — some dumb, sappy “prodigal son” sermon always comes around once a year like clockwork.

  5. kepkanation says:

    Ack! At least that crisis was averted.

  6. kepkanation says:

    Yay it’s done indeed! And with precisely the score I needed, so that’s happy-making, too.

  7. kepkanation says:

    I was relating the word “prodigal” to the word “prodigy.” So I may have used it in relation to myself (self-mocking, mostly) in the past!

    I really love that icon.

  8. kepkanation says:

    See, I just thought that prodigal referred to the son’s being a prodigy, not that he had wasted his prodigious talents. Apparently I was only half-listening to the stories.

  9. simplelyric says:

    Heh. Completion is good. Weird irony has its advantages, too.

    (That reminds me, I so need to make some kind of English major/grammar maven icon.)

  10. kepkanation says:

    Both are true. And I like the icon that you have.

  11. simplelyric says:

    Thanks. =) I like it, too, but it doesn’t serve quite all the purposes that I wish it would. So, I’ve benn thinking that I’d simply add an icon of the variety mentioned above to the group, not take this or others away from it.

  12. simplelyric says:

    “Benn”? ::facepalms:: Oh, yeah, grammar is my strong suit, I swear.

Leave a Reply

