Memo to self in 2008: Remember now, when you didn’t care?

It may be time for me to relinquish, at least for the moment, any claim I once held on being a “serious” person. I am using serious here in a political, world-events way. I have become disengaged. It was a slow slide, but it’s been definite. When I read the New York Times I gravitate toward the Arts and the Magazine, and you know what? I don’t feel bad about it anymore, or at least not as guilty as I once did. I listen to NPR in the mornings, but mostly to the human-interest pieces. I have quit all of my political action list-servs and e-mail action alerts. I don’t watch television, including CNN. Recently, I haven’t even been watching “The Daily Show.” I barely even read the first four headlines on Yahoo anymore, going, instead, straight to the last two lines, which are usually reserved for entertainment news, weather, and sports.

I read celebrity gossip columns every day. EVERY day. I am considering buying a T-shirt from gawker.com and actually wearing it. I have no idea who’s being considered in the race for governor here, and I have only the foggiest idea about who’s tossing hats and hearts around for the 2008 campaign, but I can probably list the Oscar favorites by name, director, stars and maybe budget. I’m sure I will be interested in real-world things again, but I’m not sure when or how, and I’m having trouble imagining that I will be involved, again, in campaigning or political causes. Just thinking about politics makes me exhausted. And that’s a line that used to make me want to beat people up, and maybe still does, because I still feel like political involvement is a duty, not a right.

I have no good reason to offer. I wasn’t turned off by the 2004 campaign. I don’t feel any more or less disenfranchised now than I did in 2000. I have more sense of things being at a breaking point now than any time in the recent past, what with Bush continuing his Moron Tour of the World, but… eh. I don’t feel a need to track the demise as closely as I might have in the past.

This would all be worrisome, perhaps, but I’m pretty happy. I may right now be at a happier place than I have been in the last two years. I’m reading more, I’m writing more, I’m listening to music I really enjoy, I’m even talking more, socializing more, going out more. And with that, it’s time to head out to dinner with friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memo to self in 2008: Remember now, when you didn’t care?

  1. starstraf says:

    we each go thru phases of focus in our lives, just enjoy what you are enjoying now

Leave a Reply

