Crapulostities

Is “crapulosities” a word? The dictionary online says no, but it appears in a rather accusatory and convincing “Shut the hell up, Bono” (“The Rock Star’s Burden“) op/ed in the New York Times today. I hope it’s a real word and means what I think it means. If so, I plan to use it as often as possible.

Context: Just a few years ago you couldn’t buy condoms legally in Ireland, nor could you get a divorce, though (just like in Malawi) buckets of beer were easily available and unruly crapulosities a national curse.

Interesting argument — Malawi today = Ireland of not too long ago, though I’m not sure it holds up. I’m guilty of the throw-money-and-attention-at-it school of problem solving on this one, certainly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crapulostities

  1. gotmce99 says:

    You know…funny enough, the Malawi = Ireland analogy doesn’t *have* to be too far off. I saw a picture of the hovel my great-grandpa grew up in with his 11 siblings, and it would fit right in in Malawi. They also had the huge famine, which I don’t think I realized quite how bad it was until I heard stories from my parents’ visit to a reenactment village (corny, yes, but apparently it was effective).

    Plus they’re both really religious countries that were oppressed by the British for centuries.

    Unfortunately, Ireland got a huge boost from tourism – lots of people of Irish ancestry who had idyllic ideas about the countryside. I bet most international tourists could not identify Malawi on the map. So even though they’ve got kickass places for tourists to visit, I don’t think it’ll be able to fuel their economy the same way. Oh, and they’re landlocked. Which is a drawback.

    Anyway, I guess I wish Malawi could be Ireland, and in some ways there’s no reason it couldn’t be, but I think Africa’s image makes it a big problem.

    I hope I’m wrong.

    (oof…sorry, long comment…hope you’re bored at work and don’t mind)

  2. kepkanation says:

    You are welcome to leave long comments any time you like! And everything you wrote makes sense — I’m not sure I would’ve been able to point out Malawi before I got my World Map Shower Curtain so as to be able to start studying the world for at least a few minutes everyday (who knew Norway was always so soapy?).

Leave a Reply

