The Kepkanatas: Nominations Open

The Awards season mania is upon us. Or at least it’s upon me, I don’t know how your Overzealous Awards Forcefields are working out. Usually I keep scrupulous track of what I’ve seen and not seen and who I think will and should win. I’m going to do that this year, too, but having seen a number of films this year, I’m feeling qualified to give out my own awards. So, by the powers vested in me by… well, by me, I pronounce the nominating process for the Kepkanation Pictures Arts and Sciences Academy (K-Pasa) awards OPEN.

Me first, then you. Award #1 Inspired By Comments from .

Best Performance, Five Minutes or Under, in a Motion Picture
Nominees:

  • Ralph Fiennes – Voldemort, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • Roberta Maxwell – Jack’s Mother, Brokeback Mountain
  • Alec Baldwin – Phil DeVoss, Elizabethtown
  • David Krumholtz – Mr. Universe, Serenity
  • Tilda Swinton – Penny, Broken Flowers*

*my memory of her scenes is shaky – I don’t think she had very much screen time, but I definitely got a solid impression of her character.

Most Egregious Under-use of Talent:

  • Mike Newell (Talent: Alan Rickman, Maggie Smith, J.K. Rowling), Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • Ridley Scott (Talent: Liam Neeson, Jeremy Irons, Orlando Bloom), Kingdom of Heaven
  • Cameron Crowe (Talent: Cameron Crowe), Elizabethtown
  • The Farrelly Brothers (Talent: Nick Hornby), Fever Pitch
  • Rob Reiner (Talent: Rob Reiner, Ted Griffin, the people at Netflix who would’ve sent him a copy of The Graduate upon request), Rumor Has It…

Trailer that was Better than the Picture:

  • Elizabethtown
  • Kingdom of Heaven
  • The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe*
  • Rumor Has It…
  • Cinderella Man

*I realize that’s personal taste, but they are the KEPKAnatas for a reason.

Trailer that Nearly Made Me Not Want to See a Film I Otherwise Enjoyed:

  • A History of Violence
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • The Constant Gardener

Tomorrow, there may be further categories and nominations. Perhaps more performance-based awards. I promise to open voting to the Academy as soon as possible.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Kepkanatas: Nominations Open

  1. next_bold_move says:

    My sense of the Mr. and Mrs. Smith trailer was that it didn’t make the movie seem smart, which it clearly was. I saw the movie out of lust for the leads, and I was surprised and pleased to learn the movie wasn’t what I thought it was.

Leave a Reply

