Cranky; closings; etc.

I am cranky today like it’s my job. Which, actually, sometimes it is. But today at work was such a waste. Beautiful day outside, surrounded by un-openable windows, and nothing happened. Nothing. I read the rest of “The Patron Saint of Liars” by Ann Patchett and I liked it as a work, but it just added to my crankiness. Tomorrow, more of the same.

And then I came home to nap, hoping that would wear everything off, but no. No. I don’t understand, how many times can my neighbors possibly move their bedroom furniture around? And must it always be when I’m trying to sleep? Do they keep their dresser in front of the door, or something, and then have to move it around whenever they want to leave? I don’t get it, but I’m about to tunnel my way through the wall to find out.

The Pizzeria Uno in Lawrence has closed. I don’t know why or when, except that I think it must have been this week sometime. I believe I was there last Friday. They were closed when I went by on Tuesday for lunch, though I thought it was temporary; today, the sign is gone from in front of the building. I know it’s a chain and all, and not even close to the best pizza in town, but I really liked that place. I have good memories and feelings for it as a chain. When I spent the summer at Georgetownas a high schooler, it was the first restaurant off campus that I ever ate at; it was also my comfort food restaurant (the Union Station branch) when I was in college, because I could go there and people watch and never see anyone I knew. The fact that Lawrence had one was actually a selling point when I was talking myself into coming home. All the comforts of D.C., I kept trying to tell myself, with none of the parking problems. I do understand how far off the mark that is, but… let me be, I am sad about this. They had really, really good Pepsi, too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Cranky; closings; etc.

  1. phillyexpat says:

    Pizzeria Uno seems to be a dying breed. The one in Cleveland Park vanished last year, and the one in Cherry Hill by my parents closed as well. Union Station, Georgetown, and Bethesda still live, however.

  2. kepkanation says:

    I think I would have to turn up and leave flowers at the curb if the one in Georgetown closed.

  3. phillyexpat says:

    I will keep a watchful eye on it.

  4. next_bold_move says:

    I offer my services to cheer you up in whatever way sounds best to you. πŸ™‚

  5. next_bold_move says:

    I think that was the first Uno I ate at, in Georgetown. It was one of the highlights of the trip–but only because I wasn’t that jazzed about meeting Larry King. πŸ˜‰

    Seriously, they had a ‘Shroom pizza that I would kill for. When the one here in Lawrence opened, I was dismayed to find it wasn’t on the menu.

  6. kepkanation says:

    They had just recently changed their whole menu — maybe that should’ve been a sign. But now they had this eggplant and feta cheese flatbread pizza that was just wonderful. And two kinds of vegetarian soup… sniffle.

    I love the one in Georgetown because it seems to have 8 different stories.

  7. next_bold_move says:

    We often went there for appetizers with my dad. But, ti would seem, not often enough.

    Sorry about that. 😦

  8. kepkanation says:

    Yes, I blame you! You and your neglect of the pizza skins!

    Sigh. What’s next to go, I wonder? If they close Steak’n’Shake, I’m leaving.

  9. next_bold_move says:

    You aren’t allowed to leave. And I doubt they’ll close Steak n’ Shake.

    We just need to find you new places to go!

  10. valkyriemoon says:

    i LOVE that icon

  11. kepkanation says:

    I can’t take credit for it — it was ‘s first, and it’s from the original movie poster, I believe. But it’s so appropriate, so much of the time!

  12. kepkanation says:

    Maybe more Greek food and Gilmore Girls?

  13. next_bold_move says:

    I am totally in for this. πŸ™‚

  14. kepkanation says:

    I guess I can live without Steak n Shake (not that I think it’s in any danger) — it would be the closing of La Familia that would kill me. Or Papa Keno’s, which I sometimes worry about.

    Uno was so good for lunch, though. They had speedy little lunch specials that came with soup! Waaah. And NOW where are we going to drink before our viewing of “Over the Hedge?” What’s in walking distance? Maybe On the Border, I guess — though they probably have $8 margaritas.

  15. next_bold_move says:

    I wouldn’t worry about Papa Keno’s. Besides, they have a branch in Overland Park, too. And La Familia won’t ever close–I bet they make a ton of money in that rinky-dink location.

    On the Border, for appetizers and BOOZE. That sounds good. We can be economical by having a pitcher. πŸ™‚

  16. kepkanation says:

    Can we do that NOW?

  17. valkyriemoon says:

    wait, you dont have a gilmore girls problem too, do you?

  18. starstraf says:

    I have three other friends with that icon, so at first I though it was someone else posting

  19. anonymous says:

    Sporadically, yes. We’ve started with the first season and are now into Season 3, watching DVDs in blocks. I’m a sucker for snappy, bookish dialog!

Leave a Reply

