Good news, bad news

So the good news: I found my cell phone!  Please don’t ask where.  The bad news: Found it the day after Verizon responded to my earlier message and but my account on hold to keep any unauthorized calls from being made.  So now, I have the phone, I’ll charge it up tonight, and I’ll be back into the cellphone world by tomorrow sometime (I hope).

Good news: the weather is still lovely (55 today instead of yesterday’s 75, but still extraordinary for February). Bad news: I am celebrating this by finally, possibly, getting sick.  Everyone around me has been thoroughly ill at least once in the last month, but I have so far escaped it all.  Now it’s been two days with an increasingly sore throat, which is one kind of sickness I usually don’t get.  I’m going to try some Emergency Resting Up tonight, along with lots of tea and orange juice etc., and see if I can’t escape the clutches of illness yet again.

Good news: I finished two books on Tuesday: “White Teeth” by Zadie Smith and “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time” by Mark Haddon.  Both very good books.  Zadie Smith is sometimes a little difficult to keep up with — I’ve found the two books of hers that I’ve read so far almost as challenging as they are rewarding (and they’ve been quite rewarding).  This was her debut novel, and it’s a really stunning and strange book.  “Curious Incident” was also not the normal novel: it’s presented as a book written by a 15-year-old autistic boy named Christopher, who is trying to solve the mysterious murder of his neighbor’s dog.  Along the way, a number of new questions come up that aren’t really a part of Christopher’s mystery but are certainly a part of his life, and it’s very interesting to see the most intriguing and gripping parts of the story happen in the sidelines.  Because the POV is strictly limited to Christopher, the narration is a mix of run-on sentences and whole chapters where everything begins with And, and diagrams and mathematics problems, all of which can leading to jarring leaps between one chapter and the next.  It’s a wonderful effect, though, and Haddon is so consistent with Christopher’s voice throughout that the story never feels like it’s making light of anything but never feels like an elegy, either.  It’s a story about Christopher and it’s also the story told by Christopher, two different things, and the first is the story I felt a bit like I was telling myself.

More good news: I’ve started reading “One Hundred Years of Solitude” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.  I’d like to say this is wholly because I felt a need to finally read what’s been lauded as such an incredible masterwork (he won the Nobel, right?), but it’s also in part because I have it in mass market paperback form and I wanted something light to carry around.  It’s been brilliant so far.

And, still more good: Film #9?  11?  I don’t know, but I saw “Imagine Me & You” yesterday afternoon.  Roger Ebert and I will have to agree to disagree on this film, because I thought it was thoroughly charming.  I could’ve done with a bit more development in places — would’ve liked to see more between Luce and Rachel than just glance-glance-glance-touch-love forever, but I realize that would’ve ruined the movie’s premise, Love At First Sight is Best.  I think the movie would’ve been brilliant but less fun if it had just ended with the two women getting together on the street — there would’ve been Hec’s sadness still lingering, and questions still unanswered about whether things really would work out for them — but I understand that the convention required that last flicker through everyone’s lives to tie up the loose ends.  I do like that there was a scene with Hec on the roof, the crying, the wondering if it would’ve been better to let her stay out of guilt, because it would’ve been too neat and unfair not to show the pain that the breakup would cause.  It would’ve undermined the idea that he felt for Rachel what she felt for Luce.  So, glad that was there, and not only because
Matthew Goode (also in “Match Point”) is my new British boyfriend… though perhaps my devotion is not so great, because I still don’t think I’ll be able to watch “Chasing Liberty.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good news, bad news

  1. phillyexpat says:

    I adored Imagine Me and You. So much fun.

  2. starstraf says:

    yeah for finding the phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you are sick and need delivery of anythign just give a call

  3. therealjae says:

    I saw “Chasing Liberty.” Feel free to give it a miss.

    -J

  4. webcowgirl says:

    So, can you send me Curious Incident, or was this from the library?

  5. next_bold_move says:

    I have to know where the phone was….!

  6. kepkanation says:

    Sorry for the slow reply, here. I would love to send it to you, but it was an electronic book purchase from amazon.com — and I’ve apparently already used it on too many computers, so it won’t allow further downloading (plus it requires a password, and on and on).

    I do recommend it highly, though.

Leave a Reply

