Singing a new song

First: To those who have so far sent Happy Mail (and I’m not even sure who all has, because at least one card arrived unsigned), thank you! I’ve had two local and one semi-local arrival so far, and they have all brightened my day. And there have been days recently that desperately needed brightening.

Now! I have good news, for once. Yesterday I got a slim envelope (sigh) from the University of Arkansas. Inside was… an application! The application process for Arkansas is a little backward, compared to most: You send off some samples of your work, and then if they like it, they send you an application. So the letter, which I’m carrying around, oh yes, said inside, “We admire your work and, conditional upon your acceptance to the graduate school, are pleased to welcome you to the program in creative writing.” Yay! So yesterday and today are a flurry of sending off application materials. I managed to get the graduate school’s application done and in last night, but today I have to go bug KU about sending another transcript and then I need to track down two of my three recommending professors to get new letters sent off, so that I might be in the running for a graduate assistantship. Without said assistantship, I don’t know that I’ll be going anywhere. So it’s good news, but it’s provisional good news. But still, good news!

Still waiting on four schools, but the wait doesn’t seem so bad, now. Unless something goes really wrong with UArk, at least I know I’m in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Singing a new song

  1. therealjae says:

    Oh, this is WONDERFUL! I mean, I realize that it wasn’t your first choice, but you GET TO GO TO GRAD SCHOOL! Yay!

    -J

  2. phillyexpat says:

    Hooray! What great news!

  3. kepkanation says:

    Exactly! Plus, it was still in my top 10 out of my original 38, so it’s not like a school I don’t want to go to. I’m feeling pretty psyched!! GRAD SCHOOL, YAY!

  4. kepkanation says:

    Thanks! Hooray indeed! I’m so excited I’m abusing my exclamation points!!

  5. starstraf says:

    WOOO WOOOO
    how odd that their process is so backwards

  6. phillyexpat says:

    Exclamation points need love too.

  7. drenilop says:

    Hooray!! And oh! I’ve got happy mail in my bag. Time permitting I’ll get to the post office tomorrow afternoon or saturday morning and mail it; if not i’ll try to get it off early next week.

  8. gotmce99 says:

    yay!!! Congratulations!!

    I started working on my mixed CD the last two weekends, but feel a little intimidated by the whole thing now. Plus, there are songs that I really love, but I worry other people might not love them as much, so I get self-conscious…

    And it’s all stupid! ‘Cause it’s a freakin’ mix tape and you won’t listen to it if you don’t want to!!

    Also, do you still need a copy of Confederacy of Dunces?

  9. minnaleigh says:

    Congrats! This is good news!

  10. kepkanation says:

    YAY indeed! And apparently the backwardness is working out in my favor, so no complaints!

  11. kepkanation says:

    Yay happy mail! But no rush, I know you have a lot on your plate. I should send *you* happy mail. In fact — e-mail me your address, can you?

  12. kepkanation says:

    The mix tape is all about the annotations for me. Even though I can’t spell that A word. I will like everything because your notes will tell me why you liked it and I like you! See, very easy. No stressing, just send music! Come on, I think you knew me when I was (briefly, and stupidly) listening to Britney Spears on a regular basis, surely you know I have no high ground to stand on in music.

    I do still need a copy, if you have one to spare for a bit.

  13. kepkanation says:

    Thank you! I’m very excited, as you can tell!

Leave a Reply

