Catch up

About a million years ago, asked me for my Top Five Things I want to Learn. As I’m just now catching up to comments, here they are:

Top 5 Things I Want to Learn:

  1. Automotive repair
  2. Knitting!
  3. How to enjoy exercise
  4. Ice skating
  5. Filmmaking

And asked for my Top Five Admirable Women in Fiction, which has been a real struggle for me. I think I’ll have to go with:

  • Nancy Drew
  • Cecilia, from “Atonement” by Ian McEwan
  • Taylor/Marietta Greeg, from “The Bean Trees” (and from “Pigs in Heaven”) by Barbara Kingsolver
  • Mm, probably Elizabeth Bennett in “Pride and Prejudice,” though I feel so cliche
  • August Boatwright, from “The Secret Life of Bees” by Sue Monk Kidd

    But that list could easily change at any given moment.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Catch up

  1. next_bold_move says:

    See? I’ve read Nancy Drew, and Pride and Prejudice, but not one of the rest of them.

    I’m ignorant!

  2. kepkanation says:

    I can loan you the first two, though Secret Life of Bees was a KU library loan.

  3. next_bold_move says:

    Let me get a little farther down the to-read pile, first. 🙂

  4. kepkanation says:

    Anytime you’re ready.

    I’ve been working on Storm of Swords today. Finally managed to read the Red Wedding, since I’ve been avoiding it ever since learning about it.

  5. kepkanation says:

    Where is that icon from?

  6. next_bold_move says:

    Not sure! I just liked it.

  7. kepkanation says:

    I dig the shoes.

  8. next_bold_move says:

    I’m unhappy with my icons lately, and I am trying to find some that I like better.

  9. kepkanation says:

    Someday soon, I’m going to sit down and play with Photoshop again and try to animate things. So if you find things that aren’t quite right but could be fixed, let me know.

  10. starstraf says:

    I can try to teach #2, or you can take a yarn barn class

  11. starstraf says:

    can probally teach #1

  12. starstraf says:

    Sunday is international change your icons day

  13. next_bold_move says:

    Well, the trouble being that I don’t have any in the hopper that I like better than the ones that are loaded.

    Though I do have a new default icon this week…

  14. kepkanation says:

    I may try both a class and some help from you, as I seem to do best with a combination of instruction and observation.

  15. eve_prime says:

    Hey there — a mutual friend () suggested I contact you. She says you’re planning to come to the Univ. of Oregon, here in Eugene where I’ve lived most of my life. I’ll be entering the doctoral program in Psychology at the university this fall and also did part of my undergraduate work there (some time ago). I’d be happy to chat about Eugene and the UO; your LJ interests list suggests you’ll fit right in. 🙂

    I know you can learn #2 and #4 here, and probably a great many people would be happy to help with #3, since there are lots of fun ways to exercise outdoors in this area (and there’s a great student rec center too). If you like Nancy Drew, you might enjoy my favorite female fictional character, Mary Russell, who is also a detective (as well as a feminist theologian and scientist). She first appears in The Beekeeper’s Apprentice and was created by Laurie R. King.

Leave a Reply

