The thick envelope

On Friday, the the Good Envelope from Oregon finally arrived, along with e-mail from the fiction writing director including all of the financial details and the addresses of two current students I could (and have) contacted. They’ve confirmed everything I already knew from a week of mulling this over — I really want to go to Oregon. Even getting stellar packages from the three outstanding schools (I’m counting Arkansas as outstanding, now, since I’ve heard essentially nothing from them since the first letter) would probably still leave me wanting to go to Oregon. Which probably means I should go.

I have: asked some faculty here about Oregon and received a very positive response; asked just about everyone I know about the town, and those who know anything of it have given a quick you’ll like it there response; figured out that the money they offer is a standard and equal offer among everyone, so there’s no advantage to be had by waiting or delaying to play them off other schools; gotten an e-mail back from one student who gave a predictably glowing but in parts fairly honest, I think, review of the program that told me exactly what I knew already: the money offered is probably enough to live on, but my current rock’n’roll, multiple-movies-per-week, eating-out-all-the-time, Tivo-and-Netflix lifestyle is certainly going to end. Ah well, I knew it had to.

So, what am I not thinking of? What should be keeping me from signing the papers that are sitting on my dining room table downstairs? If anyone’s got good reasons for me to wait on the other letters — whether they be thick or thin — to come through, please, please let me know, because I’m feeling very much like I want to sign and have everything settled. Which, by the way, I know is not a good enough reason to sign on with a school.

Also, I have finally updated my books page and my movies page over at Kepkanation.com. I’m almost even on the # of books I’ve read and the number of in-theater movies I’ve seen for the year, and almost on pace for the 100 mark in movies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The thick envelope

  1. phillyexpat says:

    Congratulations on the good envelope!

  2. therealjae says:

    I say sign. I really think you’ll like it there, even besides the creative writing programme.

    -J

  3. drenilop says:

    Before signing, I’d call the other schools and ask about the status of your app. *IF* these are schools that you think you might prefer to Oregon, even a huge if and might – explain that you have an offer and you’d like to make a decision but you’re pending on their response. Often they can tell you, even if the formal accept/wait/reject letters haven’t gone out yet, what your status is if you’re in this kind of situation. If they’re not willing to tell you, you’re probably low priority on the waitlist and in a situation like the ones I described to you with the places that put tight turnarounds on acceptances.

    If and when you DO decide to sign ANYWHERE, call all remaining schools that offered you admission and tell them that you’re declining (better to call than email), and call anyone else that’s still outstanding and withdraw your application from consideration.

    And YAAAAAY for thick packets!! 🙂 I remember that feeling well.

  4. therealjae says:

    This is very smart advice!

    -J

  5. drenilop says:

    Hehehe thanks, been through the grad school thing before myself. I’ve sat on our admissions committee, and I know that they really appreciate those calls asap so they can start admitting off the wait list as soon as possible.

  6. next_bold_move says:

    I’m so happy when you update, it’s sort of silly.

    I got my good envelope for Study Abroad today!

  7. kepkanation says:

    Yay!!! Is it everything you’d dreamed and more?

  8. next_bold_move says:

    Sadly, it’s thin on specifics, except when it comes to how much it’s going to cost. And that makes me CRY.

  9. kepkanation says:

    Thanks! They kindly sent two copies of everything, so I don’t have to worry about making copies to drool over once the originals are sent back in.

  10. kepkanation says:

    This is absolutely the direction I’m leaning. It helps to have the advice of one who’s been there!

  11. kepkanation says:

    Good idea; I’ll try calling the other places on Monday to see what’s going on. As always, excellent advice! Thank you. I put your other questions to good use in asking things of the faculty/students already, and have come up with positive answers from all sides.

  12. kepkanation says:

    Financial Aid office! Call and they will make your dreams realities.

    Have they scheduled an orientation meeting yet? We didn’t get much in the way of details until we had our first meeting, sometime in April, maybe.

  13. next_bold_move says:

    It’s at the very end of April–the 29th.

    I will go to financial aid right away. Probably on Monday so that I can know if this is even feasible: they want 300.00 to hold my spot pretty soon, so I gotta find out if I can use my spot. 🙂

    Whatcha doing tonight?

  14. kepkanation says:

    Some variation on staring at the computer/wall/book. Munching on pizza. Hadn’t gotten beyond that. It’s been a day of napping. You? Feeling better or worse at your house?

  15. next_bold_move says:

    Mostly better for me, though Greg’s not so hot, I think.

  16. dine says:

    congrats on receiving the Good Envelope!

    I sure hope things work out and you end up in Oregon, it’s a fabulous place (and maybe we could meet up sometime?) – depending on where you are, you’ve got access to mountains and ocean, real and relaxed people, and often a surprising amount of ‘culture’ to enjoy.

    this is such cool news!

  17. webcowgirl says:

    This is very good. I realize I’m four hours away, but if my house can help you, let me know. You can train from here to Eugene. 🙂

  18. kepkanation says:

    I’m pretty excited. And, ooo, train. Real train travel! If I make it up there, I will look you up if for no other reason than to be introduced to some of the wonderful foods you’ve written about.

  19. kepkanation says:

    I am very excited! And would certainly look you up if I came that way. Real and relaxed people… I’m getting a little more convinced with every passing hour. thanks!

  20. therealjae says:

    I’ve also done the grad school thing (and have been on our department’s graduate committee for several years), but I suspect it’s a bit further in the past for me. 😉

    -J

  21. kepkanation says:

    Yes, you two are really my resident Grad School Experts. A tip o’ the hat to you both for your excellent advice.

  22. drenilop says:

    BTW – did your Happy Mail arrive yet??

Leave a Reply

