No kidding

So, after a nice, lengthy news and politics blackout, I’m starting to become interested in the world at large again. For instance, the front-page analysis piece, “A Driven President Faces a World of Crises” over at The Washington Post.

“I am hard-pressed to think of any other moment in modern times where there have been so many challenges facing this country simultaneously,” said Richard N. Haass, a former senior Bush administration official who heads the Council on Foreign Relations. “The danger is that Mr. Bush will hand over a White House to a successor that will face a far messier world, with far fewer resources left to cope with it.”

Uh, no kidding? Hasn’t that been the danger from day one? Are they just now realizing that the damage W does to the office and the world and the country will be long term?

Here’s the scariest part of the whole article:

Even in the context of a post-Sept. 11, 2001, world, the array of tough, seemingly intractable foreign problems is spreading. Renewed violence has expanded to major cities throughout Afghanistan, as Afghan rebels adopt tactics of Iraqi insurgents and as President Hamid Karzai’s popularity has plummeted. Iran is balking at demands to come clean or compromise on its nuclear program, despite new U.S. and European incentives. Palestinians launched longer-range missiles into Israel, while Israel has authorized its army to invade part of northern Gaza.

Meanwhile, an Islamist militia in Somalia seized control of the capital, Mogadishu. Mexico’s future is uncertain after a close and disputed presidential election. And yesterday, the price of oil hit a new high of $75.19 a barrel.

Yay, it’s the end of the world as we know it! Why don’t I feel fine?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to No kidding

  1. next_bold_move says:

    Perhaps Michael Stipe could be sued?

  2. kepkanation says:

    That sounds like a great idea.

    Here is my other great idea: Why doesn’t Al Gore run for Bill Frist’s seat in Tennessee in 2006?

  3. next_bold_move says:

    Because he’s going to be busy prepping his candidacy for a larger office in ’08?

    Please please please please please let it be so!

  4. kepkanation says:

    Yes, good point. He showed up for the first time this month in the Post’s Friday Fix about possible candidates.

  5. next_bold_move says:

    please please please please please

  6. kepkanation says:

    The thing is, I don’t know if I’ll recover from another Gore loss. So if he’s going to run, he has to run and win. (I mean, he needs to think about what this might do to ME).

  7. next_bold_move says:

    Heh. Write him a letter…

  8. kepkanation says:

    Dear Al,

    You have to win this time.

    Love,
    Jenn

    P.S. please make me your campaign manager. And also my friend Kristen.
    P.P.S. Can we egg Joe Lieberman’s car?

  9. next_bold_move says:

    Don’t forget: “P.P.P.S. Can we drive your hybrid Lexus?”

  10. kepkanation says:

    Three words: Hybrid Campaign Bus.

  11. next_bold_move says:

    I’m sold. Get to writing the letter.

  12. kepkanation says:

    I will. I’m going home now to do that and also to make myself an Al Gore icon. Because man, do I need an Al Gore icon. STAT.

    Have a good evening. Er, night?

  13. next_bold_move says:

    Oooh! May I steal it? (I havne’t even SEEN it and I want it.)

    I’m getting ready to turn in. I am BEAT.

  14. kepkanation says:

    Eh, I am unsatisfied with what I have made. My eventual goal is to combine the first two into something more animated, perhaps, or to do something better with one of the others. But if you want any as stop-gaps until I get my graphics ass in gear, you are welcome to them:

  15. next_bold_move says:

    I think these look good!

    I can’t wait to see the final result.

Leave a Reply

