What did I do?

BEN FOLDS is touring this fall, and where is he coming to? THE LIED CENTER at the University of Kansas. On November 6. I drove by the Lied Center EVERY DAY on my way to work. It’s maybe 2.5 miles from where I used to live. He would have been RIGHT HERE. No West Coast tour dates up at all (yet? I hope) but he also has a scheduled date at Bender Arena on the campus of American University in Washington, D.C.

Dear Ben Folds,

Please come to the University of Oregon. If you need a place to crash, I have a guest room and a really nice kitchen. Bring your family. I promise not to drool or be stalkery, particularly if you’re willing to stay up and tell me why you’re so cool and to occasionally let me quote your own songs back at you. For instance: “The songs you wrote got me through a lot, just want to tell you that.”

Love,

Jenn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What did I do?

  1. drenilop says:

    LOL gotta love the irony when things work out that way. 🙂 Hope you’re well. Do I have a new snail-mail address for you?

  2. therealjae says:

    Oh, man. That’s just *wrong*.

    (Please let him come up here? Even to Calgary? I’d go.)

    -J

  3. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, irony is my life. Heh. I will e-mail you the new snail mail address pronto — and I will be living there as of this coming weekend. EEEE!

  4. kepkanation says:

    It’s wrong in so many ways! Of course, I’m still kicking myself for not driving to Missouri when he came through a few years ago with Rufus Wainwright.

    Do you have the song “Late”? And if not, do you want it? It’s Ben Folds singing about Elliot Smith, and recently it’s one of my top ten most-played.

  5. therealjae says:

    I don’t have it–and yes, I’d love it! Thank you.

    -J

    P.S. Your name was taken in vain in one of my recent livejournal entries (i.e., I asked for your advice in particular)–did you miss that? If it’s just that you had nothing to say, then feel free to ignore this nudge…

  6. kepkanation says:

    Oh no! No, the problem is I haven’t been reading of late — I’ve had sporadic Internet access and have basically been using all computer time to write or catch up on the other billion things I need to be processing. I’ll read it tonight and try to comment during my few days of downtime (with predictable and high-speed Internet access) at home… though the possibility exists that I may not get to comment until after the Oregon trip (so think next Monday or so).

    I never have nothing to say! Heh.

  7. therealjae says:

    Okay. It’ll probably be too late by then, but I’d still be up for your basic “go, Jae, go” cheerleading at that point. 😉

    -J

  8. kepkanation says:

    Read! Commented! Not sure I was at all helpful!

    The Ben Folds song may have to wait for next week, unless I can get it transferred painlessly to my mom’s computer and then over to you somehow.

Leave a Reply

