peachpie


peachpie
Originally uploaded by kepkanation.

My mother’s neighbor’s mother died this week, and I decided to make some funeral food for their family (even though, really, I’m not their biggest fan, as the grown son in the family likes to throw large limbs into my mother’s lawn when he’s out meticulously mowing his mom’s place with all of his professional landscaper equipment).

Anyway, here it is: peach pie, adapted from a recipe found here: http://pie.allrecipes.com/az/PeachPie.asp. I used alterations as found in the reviews: 1/2c white and 1/2c brown sugar, 1/2 c. flour, and 1/2 tsp almond extract. And, because I’m not at all an ambitious baker, I used the store-bought crusts by Pillsbury. I can’t even say whether this turned out well or not, because tasting it before giving it away would seem to be in very bad taste.

But I have plans to make a second pie tomorrow, to enjoy at my going-away dinner with the grandparents.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to peachpie

  1. therealjae says:

    Yum!

    And: large *limbs*? Like, arms and legs???

    -J

  2. kepkanation says:

    Yes, there’s a tree that grows arms and legs next door, and that bastard is always throwing them over here for us to deal with. 😉

  3. starstraf says:

    WOW, good job! It looks yummy

  4. next_bold_move says:

    It looks fantastic. Did you make a second one, afterall? How did it turn out?

  5. kepkanation says:

    I did make a second for family consumption, using jarred peaches and a little less almond extract than before. I managed to singe the crust a tiny bit — not to an inedible extent, but just to where it didn’t make for a pretty picture.

    Tasty, though. Mmmm.

  6. kepkanation says:

    It was super tasty with ice cream!

Leave a Reply

