It’s like a vacation, but no, I live here

A few new pictures up over at Flickr.

Last night, I went to see Little Miss Sunshine (for the second time) with my mom at the Bijou Art Cinema. The cinema is a Spanish mission-style building that has its own lovely courtyard and a 19-pound, 20-year-old cat named Boo. Two adult tickets: $10. They served organic popcorn and Pepsi products (alongside a bevy of good tea and fruit juice options) at prices under the theater standard (2 large drinks and a large popcorn: $7). The film was shown on a smallish-sized screen (Lawrence folks: about the size, or maybe a bit larger, than the small theater at Liberty Hall) in what looked to be an old auditorium, which had a (closed) balcony. The sound and picture were great. After the film, they took the popcorn buckets to recycle the cardboard. The theater sells 10-ticket passes for $40.

I love my new town.

P.S. I have Internet at home now. Woo!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s like a vacation, but no, I live here

  1. dine says:

    this is great! I’m going to love hearing your adventures discovering your new home; Eugene is a way cool town, with lots and lots of interesting places to explore. have fun!

  2. therealjae says:

    Yay! Yay! I knew you would.

    -J

  3. kepkanation says:

    It feels like it’s just built for me! I am totally psyched.

  4. kepkanation says:

    So far I’ve loved all of it that I’ve seen! It’s an new and good adventure every day.

  5. next_bold_move says:

    That sounds fantastic. Add it to our list of things to do when we come to visit you.

  6. phillyexpat says:

    All the pictures are great, but, WOW, that Wyoming one of the road and the clouds!

  7. starstraf says:

    Yeah for movie watching goodness!

    I finished up another pot-scrubber. Renn fest has started.
    We were unable to find anyone to join our crochet group so just two of us now

  8. kepkanation says:

    I thought of you immediately upon entering the theater, and again as every good thing happened. Particularly the ginormous cat.

  9. kepkanation says:

    Thanks! I like that one, too. Taken out a truck window, even!

  10. kepkanation says:

    Are people crazy? Do they not know about the food and the good company?

    Congrats on the pot scrubber, at least! I found a craft center on campus — I think I’m going to take a knitting class this fall. Whee!

    And thank you for the pretty birthday card!

  11. starstraf says:

    Yeah I think they are crazy
    Excellent about the craft center
    glad you liked the card

  12. starstraf says:

    I’ve pointed my friends that live in the area to you – to show you the ins and outs of the town

  13. kepkanation says:

    Yay, thanks! The Star network at its best. right?

  14. starstraf says:

    I try

Leave a Reply

