I’m going to burn it down and start over with a Mac Pro. Any day now.

AAAAAAAugh! All I want is to be able to watch video through Firefox. But no. Every time I try, I run up against that “Missing Plug-in” screen, and always for the same plug-in: Windows Media Player. I’ve gone to the Firefox site for the plugin, but it’s built for Media Player 10. I have Media Player 11. I went to Windows, and they offered instructions on how to roll WMP 11 back to WMP 10 — the usual Control Panel Remove route — but my version of WMP 11 came pre-installed, or was otherwise deeply embedded into the soul of my computer during our Major April Meltdown (which, by the way, I still remain convinced was caused by software conflicts inspired by Windows Media Player), so there’s NO UNINSTALL option. Anywhere. I even tried re-installing WMP 11 and then uninstalling that, but no, it just “rolled me back” to my previously installed, hidden, entrenched WMP11.

I have probably spent 45 minutes on this so far. I’ve restarted four times. I can’t even remember what it was that I specifically wanted to watch.

WHY, Windows? WHY?

OK, my good humor is returned again by the Condi Rice/Peter MacKay fun on CNN. My favorite quotes still come from the State Department Spokesman (via The New York Times):

“No, there were no candles,” Sean McCormack, the State Department spokesman, said in exasperation when reporters asked for further details about a working dinner on Monday when the two sat side by side at the Pictou Lodge Resort. Mr. McCormack pointed out that the dinner was not even intimate: 14 aides and six security guards were present.

“It was a well lighted dinner, with electricity-based lighting,” Mr. McCormack said.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m going to burn it down and start over with a Mac Pro. Any day now.

  1. starstraf says:

    I’ve hit that a few times also – I think it is the web page checking tomake sure you have IE verison 5 or higher and gets “no stupid this is firefox”

  2. kepkanation says:

    Both Firefox and Microsoft say the problem can be fixed, but their solutions don’t work for me. So now I have to use the dreaded IE if I want to see a video from online. Which annoys the CRAP out of my.

    I do not have this problem on the mac, thank goodness, but since I can’t find my wireless router, I can’t use it at home… blah blah blah. I’m whiny today.

Leave a Reply

