Good and bad

The good news of the day is that I went to inspect my classroom, and it’s actually going to be (I hope) a very good space for our class. It’s in the basement of a science building, but it still has windows and is very new and clean feeling. It’s also got every electronic hookup I could ever want, right down to electronically controlled window shades. Sweet!

The bad news is, I just learned from the office manager that the books that are assigned for class aren’t going to come in until Week 2 (out of 10 weeks!). So all of my assignments for the first two weeks are sort of up in the air, particularly considering we have no copies through the department. I think I will reroute and move some readings up, but I’m also going to let the students know (shh, don’t tell the bookstore) that the previous edition of the book will have almost everything they need in it — and it’s going to cost them around $20, instead of $60, if they buy it used.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good and bad

  1. therealjae says:

    Ugh. This happened to me this year, too! I ended up having to photocopy the bits from the book that they were supposed to read for the first couple of weeks. Eighteen times. So annoying (not to mention expensive).

    -J

  2. drenilop says:

    Yay for you. I sent you an email.

  3. kepkanation says:

    Yay for you, too! I e-mailed back.

  4. kepkanation says:

    Yeah, I’m not sure I can afford to make copies of everything for all 26 students, so I’m going to bump up some online-only readings and make the others available online (via Blackboard, our online class thingy) and hope that makes it work. At least all the other classes will be in the same boat.

    We’re supposed to find out about the ease of putting things up online tomorrow — I’m hopeful, but still skeptical enough that I’ve put everything on reserve in the library in hard form, too (though I am skeptical as well about the students’ knowledge of where the library is and how it can be used in person, instead of online).

    I had an interesting and brief discussion about Canadian fiction the other day with one of my incoming classmates (from British Columbia). He recommended Geist and Stephen Osborne as good Canadian essay ground, likening it to Harper’s (though he said it’s not his favorite magazine, tone-wise). Do you know of it and would you concur?

  5. therealjae says:

    I’ve actually never read Geist, but from what I know of it, it’s not really a Harpers analogue. The Harpers analogue (or maybe the New Yorker analogue?) would be The Walrus.

    -J

Leave a Reply

