Studio 60

I finally got around to watching my recording of “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip.” Does Aaron Sorkin not own a book of names, somewhere? Danny? We get another Danny? And Matthew Perry is… Matt? And Danny is actually Aaron Sorkin? OK, wait, on that last one, I’ve got to try to step back from my instant, “Wow, he’s writing himself” thoughts, because it drives me nuts when people assume that about other types of writing.

Aside from those minor quibbles, the show has everything in it that’s made me interested in past Sorkin shows. It seems to be set up for conflict on several thoughtful levels between a bunch of professional, interesting, intelligent people (I’m kind of digging the religious ex-girlfriend bit, though it took me a while to catch on to it). I’m guessing (and hoping) that this will be, like “Sports Night,” a show that’s less about the show-within-a-show than the people behind it. The cast is great — even Amanda Peet, who normally drives me nuts, seemed all right here.

And yet… something wasn’t quite gelling, here. Not yet. It seems like it will be show with the potential for greatness, but the pilot didn’t achieve it. It felt like The West Wing on Comedy. I’m looking forward to the next show, and I will watch it, and I have confidence it will get better.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Studio 60

  1. valkyriemoon says:

    i agree with all of that 🙂 and found it very amusing… judd hirsch was great, and i like how amanda peet wasnt made uberpretty (like they didnt glam her up like i expected)… it felt more like a movie than a tv show, and had ridiculously meticulous cinematography

  2. kepkanation says:

    I wonder if she will be more glammed as the season progresses — and whether Judd Hirsch will reappear? It certainly sounds like he will, as they definitely left the door open for it.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the second show tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

