Small food adventure

Tonight, I needed to eat at home and eat only of things I have on hand. Lucky for me, I happened to find a recipe at A Food Year for Garlic Risotto that sounded interesting, and I had all 5 necessary ingredients (12 cloves of garlic, 1 c. Arborio rice, 3/4 c. peas, water, salt&pepper) on hand. I had two thoughts upon reading the recipe: 12 cloves of garlic is A LOT, and 2 cups of water isn’t going to cut it for 1 cup of Arborio rice. It turns out I was right on one, wrong on the other — but not in the favorable way. The garlic flavor wasn’t at all strong — in fact, the risotto just tasted like white rice toward the end, which was highly disappointing.

I ended up using probably about 3-4 cups of water; everything over the initial 2 cups was just boiling water from the kettle, though the rice was very bland before even that. What saved this all was that I added about a tablespoon (maybe slightly more) of balsamic vineagar in the last few moments of cooking. It helped bring out the garlic a little and worked well with the peas, and so dinner was saved. I also had a bowl of Pacific-brand Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato soup, into which I stirred some brown rice. No pictures, because eh. It looks just like his picture.

Brown rice, by the way, is my romance of the moment, food-wise. I have it constantly, thanks totally to a Cook’s Illustrated recipe from “A Veggie Venture” that I’ve probably linked to before. I don’t care, it’s worth saying again — this is a great, easy recipe that always makes perfect brown rice. I simplify even above what she suggests and boil the water in my tea kettle before adding it to the dry rice (and oil and salt) waiting in the baking dish. Then there’s really only one dish to clean up.

Other than that, I haven’t had any food adventures* since last weekend, when I roasted my first eggplant. I plan to make a cauliflower gratin recipe out of my new amazing cookbook this week; of that accomplishment, there will certainly be photographic proof.

*the food adventure I have every day is that my microwave is broken — literally, the last tenant broke the glass. It’s also small and unpredictable, so tonight I very nearly caught a bag of popcorn on fire. I had to put it under water in the sink, and it filled the whole house with smoke first. I am going to have to buy a new microwave soon, because I love popcorn and this is ridiculous.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Small food adventure

  1. anonymous says:

    Hi, so glad you love the rice, isn’t it terrific? And I love the tea kettle idea, especially since I have one! Happy cooking! Alanna (A Veggie Venture)

  2. starstraf says:

    you can usually find a microwave at a garage sale for under $10

    Pooch mad dueling lasagna’s sunday night –
    1) Red sause meat lasgana with white noodles
    2) Mushroom and (frozen) spinach white sause with green spinach noodles
    3) Raspberry and ricotta with fried chocolate noodles

  3. kepkanation says:

    I need to look at a garage sale, yes.

    The lasanga thing makes me weep. I may have to go eat a lot of not-as-good Italian good just to make up for missing it. At least you didn’t send pictures. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. default says:

    I was disappointed with the recipe, too :\ Balsamic vinegar improved it though? hmm…

  5. kepkanation says:

    It gave it more of a kick, and brought out a little more of the garlic flavor. So it improved it, but I’m still not sure I’d make it again.

  6. default says:

    Out of curiousity, did you read the dinner entry that accompanies the recipe? I’m just wondering if people stumble upon recipes by themselves and don’t have the time/don’t notice the part where I critique them.

  7. kepkanation says:

    I actually found it by paging through the dinner recipes, and I did read that it was disappointing, but I guess I was hoping that it was disappointing next to the other garlic-rich dishes and that on its own it might be a little more sparky.

    Generally, I do read the critiques and the whole menu, even though (as a vegetarian) a lot of it isn’t quite up my alley. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. default says:

    There’s a new feature (like.. we added it maybe 4 hours ago) if you go to the index, you can filter all the recipes for vegetarian only. JUST FOR YOU ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

