Memo to Aaron Sorkin

Dear Mr. Sorkin,

1. Give me, please, a little less exposition through dialogue. I understand it’s necessary on television, but can we have some kind of limit? Some kind of line in the sand? Like, “we’ve now crossed the 13 minutes of our 48 minute show have been blatant lecturing line, maybe we should have some action or perhaps take a moment and trust the audience to draw its own connections.” Or maybe if I was only going to get lectured about one thing per episode, I’d be in a better mood for it.

2. Please fucking USE Bradley Whitford. Will next week be his big show? His character has a storyline — he’s been named All Time World Defender of Real Content on Television — but it’s only briefly alluded to every week. This episode offered a 10-second Jack Rudolph rant on his evil. I would have loooooved to see an entire episode based around this. I think I could watch an entire season of shows where every week, Jack tries to fire Danny and every week, something happens that keeps it from happening. Loyalties would be tested, people would be angry, controversy would be stirred, and I’d get to see Danny Tripp (Mr. Whitford) railing at the injustice of it all, or even just sitting calmly and taking it, but jesusgod, he’d be doing something other than walking in and out of every third scene with no apparent purpose.

Or is that what Executive Producers do?

3. I was wondering when a Sam would show up.

I wish I could pinpoint exactly what’s not working for me with this show. It has a decent premise and it’s picked issues that I find fascinating. The cast is amazing. I just… I don’t know. Tonight it was kind of tiring. Maybe I’ve seen too much Sorkin.

I’m also beginning to wonder if it’s possible for a show to be weighed down with too good a cast. It feels like the writer here is trying so hard to make sure that everyone gets screen time that there are some bizarre inventions and combinations of characters — Jordan McDeere begging for friends? Jack Rudolph trying to challenge Danny to a fight? Etc.

On the bright side, I’m so in love with the new James Bond trailer that ran during the show that I’m maybe going to marry it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memo to Aaron Sorkin

  1. starstraf says:

    you will have to share teh new James Bond trailer with Pooch – he’s also in love with it

  2. kepkanation says:

    I may possibly be the first one in line to see it when it opens here. I drool over Daniel Craig.

  3. next_bold_move says:

    Interestingly, I really liked this last duo of Studio 60 episodes. But I like the love story angle, and the journalist backstage. I thought it was going to be like that one episode with Sam and his ex-fiancee, but it’s not. It’s actually a fresh idea.

    And I thought the seen in the comedy club was well done: the race issue was insightfully handled.

    I do think there are portions of it that don’t work so well, but those were the bright spots for me.

Leave a Reply

