The Reading Journal

It occurred to me recently that I haven’t been absorbing readings for class very well. It’s not that I don’t find them interesting (OK, it is that, sometimes), it’s more that I read them, I form some opinion of them, and then I move swiftly onto the next reading. As most of the reading I’m doing at the moment is all circling the same points, it all sweeps together.

It’s also occurred to me that the readings I’ve been absorbing best are those I’ve been doing for the seminar that requires a written response to each piece. So, I’ve decided it might be a good thing to try keeping a “reading notebook,” keeping track of what I’m getting from each thing I’m reading as I read it.

And wow, there it was, the big motion-sickness wave I should have felt earlier this afternoon from hurtling over such a major academic-nerdly hill in the sand.

I’ve also figured out, though, that I’ve been consuming all kinds of media with a similar seriousness. That’s part of the creative writing animal, maybe, and it’s certainly something I teach, but considering everything equally valuable in its form and narrative style is different than considering things on what needs to be taken from them.

This entry was posted in reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

