This recipe is convenience brilliance

From my stack of vegetarian cookbooks yesterday, I picked up one I can’t even remember how I got: Easy Vegetarian Dinners. It has pictures and nutritional breakdowns for each recipe, and it really focuses on the easy. Love it. So, last night, I made “Hearty Rice Skillet,” because lately anything that takes more than one pan or more effort than measure, pour, cook makes me want to call for pizza.

This stuff is really, really tasty. I understand this may not be a selling point for anyone else, but it’s kind of like eating spaghetti o’s except with vegetables and rice. That’s just the soup talking, though.

I’m not a big leftover fan usually, but this stuff — mm. I love it. It’s ridiculously simple and not at all bad for you, and could be one of those dishes that’s best when it’s all convenience foods.

Hearty Rice Skillet
Total time (cooking + prep) = 20-25 minutes

1 15 oz. can of black beans OR red kidney beans OR chickpeas, rinsed and drained (I used organic kidney)
1 14.5 oz can stewed tomatoes, chopped (I used the “Mexican” variety)
2 c. loose packed frozen mixed vegetables (I used 2 cups corn, 1 cup green beans, 1 cup baby peas)
1 c. water
3/4 c. quick cooking brown rice
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme or dried dill, crushed (I used thyme)
Several dashes hot pepper sauce (optional, and I didn’t have any on hand — this is completely not spicy without this)
1 10.75 oz. (standard sized) can condensed tomato soup (I used the “healthy options” Campbell’s stuff, which reduces the sodium nicely)
1/3 c. slivered almonds (again, skipped this)
1/2 c. shredded cheddar or mozzarella cheese (I used about 2/3 c. cheddar to finish off a bar of Tillamook)

In large skillet (I used a 4 qt nonstick pan) stir together beans/chickpeas, undrained tomatoes, frozen vegetables (not thawed), water, uncooked rice, thyme or dill, and, if desired, hot pepper sauce. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 12-14 minutes or until rice is tender. Stir in soup; heat through.

To serve, stir in almonds and sprinkle with cheese.

I added a tiny can of sliced black olives and, with each serving, I’ve been cutting up a little fresh cilantro. Because I looooove cilantro.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This recipe is convenience brilliance

  1. simplelyric says:

    I could be wrong, but that very well may be the cookbook that my sister passed along to me to give to you. If so, I’m glad it’s useful; if not, well, I’m still glad for that. *g*

Leave a Reply

