Everything, All At Once

Precise timeline of disaster:

9:45 a.m. Wake up, plug in laptop to charge while I’m getting ready because I forgot to do so last night.
10:30 a.m. Leave house, with laptop in cute little laptop bag, and go to The Supreme Bean for morning writing.
12:15 p.m. Leave Supreme Bean, go to campus. On campus, proceed to library. Use Memory Stick to print out three stories for adviser’s review.
12:50 p.m. Drop off stories for adviser. Trek across campus and over to Espresso Roma for lunch and more computer time.
1:40 p.m. Leave Roma. Detour through university bookstore. Ask to see external hard drives, because I’ve been feeling very data insecure this week. Hold external hard drive in my hands for a few minutes before deciding to check on prices at Best Buy. Put hard drive down.
1:50 p.m. Go to library. Plug in poor, tired computer to wall. Put on headphones and rev up iPod. Listen to music and work on new writing project and research arson*.
3:30 p.m. Have had enough of library. Shut computer down. While it’s turning off, I decide to add a few more songs to my iPod playlist. After I’ve added four songs, the iPod gives me a sad blank screen and then a message: No power remains, please plug iPod into power source. Spend a few minutes tapping iPod buttons, futzing with wheel. Message won’t go away, and it’s making little skipping-music-sounds through the headphones. iPod: BROKEN.
3:34 p.m. Look up from smoldering iPod to realize that iBook has not turned off, and is instead frozen on a bluish screen with a tiny twirling flower at the bottom. Wait.
3:37 p.m. Impatient with waiting, trying hitting buttons. Finally hold down power key until computer turns off. Turn computer back on. It makes discouraging clicking-groaning noise and takes a long time to boot up; eventually reaches log-in screen, from where I shut it down. Or, I try: computer won’t shut down. Computer freezes again on shut down screen. I try closing the computer lid, to see if that will help. No. Computer stays on — hard drive can be heard spinning, lights on on the bottom. Screen now is black. No response from hitting any keys. Hit power key: computer whirs and whines. Hold power key down: computer shuts off. iBook: BROKEN.
3:40 p.m. PANIC!
3:50 p.m. Go to bookstore; buy external hard drive. Ask for recommendation on where I can take a possibly broken laptop.
3:52 p.m. Donate $5 to Hurricane Katrina Relief bake sale, in wayward attempt at winning good karma. Also, get two cupcakes with sprinkles.
5:15 p.m. At home, new hard drive plugged in, currently backing up desktop PC. Next: try again with the laptop.

Right now, it’s like Schroedinger’s cat: until I look in the box, the hard drive is both dead and alive. But if I try to boot the computer and it won’t turn on…

* Seriously. I was researching acts of arson on university campuses, while sitting in the university library. Yes. Asking lightning to strike me, I know. In my defense: I’m not planning any arson, just writing about people who are.

EDIT 6 p.m. Laptop starts, after a long delay, and is currently backing up to my supercool new lego-ish made-in-Oregon LaCie hard drive.
6:20 p.m. Bought new-to-me Ben Folds album, Supersunnyspeedgraphic LP with videos, off of iTunes to celebrate. Mostly for the song “Learn to Live With What You Are.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Everything, All At Once

  1. next_bold_move says:

    We were only going to have good days from yesterday forward. You said!

  2. kepkanation says:

    Was it after midnight?

    I have now turned on the laptop and the iPod and both, with some nudging, seem to be working again. So the panic has subsided substantially. Therefore, I’ll consider it a good day, since it’s the day that convinced me to BACK UP ALL MY FILES.

  3. next_bold_move says:

    I should also learn this lesson with you, but I probably won’t.

  4. kepkanation says:

    My new hard drive looks like a Lego! I mean, LEGOS ARE COOL. That’s my encouragement.

    http://www.lacie.com/us/products/product.htm?pid=10692

  5. next_bold_move says:

    That’s freaking adorable.

  6. therealjae says:

    Okay, man, that’s some shitty luck. 😦

    -J

  7. gotmce99 says:

    If there’s anything that should bring you good karma, it’s this: Also, get two cupcakes with sprinkles.

  8. simplelyric says:

    ::winces:: Ohh, I’ve heard that clicking-groaning noise. I so empathize. I’m glad things are working enough for you to do the backups!

Leave a Reply

