Game (hunting) day

I hope I’m not thought anti-state-patriotic for saying this, but this bill, introduced in the Missouri Senate, is the funniest thing I’ve seen all day.  It proposes changing the official game bird of Missouri from the Bobwhite Quail to the Kansas Jayhawk.  Meaning… open season?

The KU/Mizzou men’s basketball game is this Saturday.  I will miss it, I believe, as I have other plans, and also because I find watching basketball on television to be less fun than watching paint dry (no distracting fumes makes the difference, I guess).  I am, however, feeling more invested than usual in the success of the Jayhawk team this year.  I’m sure that has more to do with my distance from home than a sudden love of college athletics, but still — Go Jayhawks!

I’m already curious as to what the Kansas Senate will do in retaliation: name the Tiger as our State Roadkill of Choice?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

