State of the Television

I have reached the height of cynicism.

Tonight, there’s the State of the Union.  I could watch that, or… I could watch the new HBO show, “In Treatment,” that debuts at 9:30 Eastern (6:30 Pacific) (and is

One of these will star the guy I didn’t vote for talking about policies I won’t agree with that will, most likely, be implemented in the Worst Way Possible and end up ruining the world.  No matter what, it is unlikely to change my mind about anything and will probably have no immediate effect on how I conduct myself tomorrow.

The other will star Gabriel Byrne, Dianne Wiest, Blair Underwood, and Josh Charles, and will likely make me smile, cringe, laugh, and feel vaguely disturbed, as every HBO show tends to do.  If I like it, I will be likely to advocate watching it (during one of its 14 repeats or for free online via the HBO Web site) to everyone I see tomorrow, and will end up drawing countless bystanders into “what do you love on HBO” conversations.

Guess which one I will choose.

This entry was posted in tv and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to State of the Television

  1. Kim says:

    I hope _In Treatment_ is good, and if you say it is, I’ll plan to check it out eventually. Lacking HBO and avoiding all network Web sites like the plague at the moment, however, I’ll most likely have to wait to borrow the inevitable DVDs from my library or Netflix.

  2. Jenn says:

    Ah, yeah, good point on the Web site. I’ll let you know what I think. 🙂

  3. Is that cynicism? I thought it was just sensible.

  4. Jenn says:

    You know, not watching the State of the Union — sensible. Not watching the replies by the Democrats (particularly those running for President) because I’m equally distrustful of their responses — cynical. Particularly since my own state’s governor was chosen to give the official Democratic reply, and I generally think she’s an all right official.

Leave a Reply

