I need more movies

I have done myself a computer injury.  How, you ask?  Repetitive stress, probably, but brought on by a need to fill hours of my day with mindless entertainment, such as that which is supplied by Sims2.  This is partly the fault of being immersed in election matters — which makes the stress relief necessary, as completely controlling some fake people really helps while I’m listening at the same time to people who I can’t control doing stupid things again and again.  It’s also my own fault (and so, what am I doing but writing about it on the computer?  But it’s a different computer, one that I use with better posture), and I’m trying to do better, today, by doing something other than typing, moving a mouse, and reading online.  It hurts to sit.  It hurts to lay down.  It hurts to walk.  Something must change.

So I want to go to the movies, but, I’ve nearly exhausted the movies that interest me at current.  This weekend, I saw Bill Maher’s Religulous.  It was both exactly what I thought and better than what I thought it would be.

The trailer is misleading, in a way, because it makes it seem like Maher’s entire point is to mock religion.  In a way, yes, that’s what he’s doing, but he’s using the humor to make a point, not using humor as his point.  The final three minutes of the movie are actually its point: that’s when Maher makes his pitch for agnostics and atheists to speak up, to take some political action to make doubt a more acceptable religious position in America and around the world.  I really enjoyed the film, and it took me a while to figure out how much and why I enjoyed it.  I enjoyed it because it made me think, and it kept me thinking.  I recommend it pretty highly.  It may have convinced me to pick up HBO again.

I also saw W. I recommend the Oliver Stone “featurette” at Apple, because it really explains the movie and Stone’s motivation in making it, his “fascination” with George W. Bush.  I had mixed feelings on seeing the film — in part because a contemporaneous dramatic report of Bush’s failures is something I don’t necessarily need, particularly if it’s going to be dumbed down to be entertaining — but the positive reviews finally convinced me.  I’m glad I saw it; it’s a powerful film, in that I didn’t know that I could feel any sympathy for the man and this nearly pushed me into that column for forty or forty-five minutes.  Of course, at the end of the film, the people you really sympathize with are the American people, so… it’s an interesting exercise in self-pity, in a way, for a Democrat.

My biggest complaint with the movie?  Thandie Newton’s distracting impression of Condoleeza Rice.  Josh Brolin, Richard Dreyfuss, James Cromwell, and Elizabeth Banks all owned their characters, with copied mannerisms incorporated into a solid performance.  Newton looked exactly like Rice, but her weird nasal voice was deeply distracting and pulled me out of the movie every time she spoke.

Anyway.  I need more movies to see.  Why isn’t James Bond here yet?

This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I need more movies

  1. Pasquino says:

    “Why isn’t James Bond here yet?”

    Because he’s a cruel, cruel man. You must wait.

    What sort of injury have you done yourself? Any way you could file a workman’s comp claim? Can grad students do that? Seems like you should be able to.

  2. Jenn says:

    I could if playing The Sims was a part of my job.

Leave a Reply

