Watching, Reading

(I’m really writing this just as a test of Windows Live Writer).

I read some books and saw some movies:

Movies in the last two weeks:

  • "The Wrestler."  It’s as depressing, and as well-done, as you think.  With an 80s soundtrack not to be beat.
  • "Watchmen." True enough to the source for me.
  • "Rachel Getting Married." I’m still a little nauseated from the camerawork.  I’m not kidding about that.  Great performances trapped in a film that was almost unwatchable.
  • "Frost/Nixon." Strangely not as righteous as I was expecting.  But I love Tony Blair, they should give him more acting jobs.
  • "Slumdog Millionaire." Yep.  And as my finale, I, too, will break into a dance number, and then win some deserved Oscars.

Books in the last two weeks:

  • The Return of Depression Economics by Paul Krugman.  It’s a narrative explanation of why we are now where we are now, and why it’s just as bad or worse than we think.  Highly recommended.

Yay.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Watching, Reading

  1. candi faye says:

    You just never know who you’ll find when you start following online rabbit holes. Nice words you have going on over here. I agree on Rachel Getting Married; the whole artsy throw-in of shaky camera work was a bit obvious and not worth taking Dramamine. I loved the story.
    candi d.

Leave a Reply

