Oscar Thoughts

Whoa, Oscars, already?  I’ve barely even had time to see these movies, let alone contemplate their goodness.

Best Picture:

Avatar
– Two questions: 1). Will I need 3-D glasses to watch James Cameron give his acceptance speech? and 2). Will he offer credit to the producers of Pocahontas?

The Blind Side –
Since Sandra Bullock was snubbed for Speed 2: Something About a Boat, I am of course rooting for her to get what she so richly deserves here.

District 9 
– Finally, one I’ve seen. I’m glad to see this nominated, though I was surprised to hear someone on NPR call it a nod to popularity. Was it that popular? Perhaps when I think “popular,” I think Midwestern popular, and I can’t imagine it did all that well in the multiplexes of my youth. It was thoughtful and had aliens. Is that the new Oscar recipe?

An Education
– I wanted to see this movie. No, I wanted to have seen this movie. I could never psyche myself up for what I assume would have been an exercise in feeling existentially terrible along the lines of last year’s kick-in-the-head, Revolutionary Road. But, Peter Sarsgaard. If I ever get Netflix and if it ever gets sunny again, I might watch this. With chocolate.

The Hurt Locker
Squarely at the top of my “I’ve been meaning to see that!” list for several months last year, but I missed its every trip through town. Now, however, through the miracle that is iTunes rental, I think I might actually buckle down and watch it. Jeremy Renner! How I wish your TV show had survived.

Inglorious Basterds
– only movie this year to bring a tear to my boyfriend’s eye. I think it was the misspelled title.

Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire – There’s not enough chocolate in the world.

A Serious Man
– I keep getting this mixed up with A Single Man and then I have to picture not only Colin Firth working with Joel and Ethan Coen, but also standing on a roof looking for his dead lover, the guy from Imagine Me & You. Actually, I’d watch that movie.

Up
– Hallelujah. I’m still teary-eyed from the first ten minutes.

Up in the Air
– Another one I’ve seen! What is that, three out of ten? I hear this is considered a possibility for Best Picture if Avatar and The Hurt Locker blow each other up. I wouldn’t be disappointed.

Etc. I’d like to see Christoph Waltz win for his turn in Inglorious Basterds, because he stole every scene and made Brad Pitt look a bit amateur. Beyond that, I’m not deeply invested.

This entry was posted in movies, pop culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

