But, life, what if you don’t like lemonade?

So, it’s been a rough six weeks here. There have been professional setbacks/layoffs. There has been a family emergency and some necessary, open-ended rescheduling of two major trips to which we were all looking forward.

Also, I’ve been working. This was going to be an easy term because 2 of my scheduled classes were canceled. I kept thinking this was going to be so easy, but now, I realize, I can say this term was hard. I taught 4 classes in three different subjects (English-Poetry, Writing-Comp, and Study Skills) on three different campuses in three different towns for two different schools. I traveled two days a week and taught my first night class since my daughter was born. I kept telling myself I wasn’t that busy, but you know what? Screw that, I was busy. I also made about 80 percent of the meals we ate at home, participated in two readings (with different work each time), and, oh yeah, I have an almost two-year-old girl at home who has never been to daycare and spent a sum total of 10 hours out of the presence of either parent in the last there months.

Anyway. So I was busy, and I was stressed out, and I kept feeling bad for being stressed out because this was going to be an easy term. Great combination.

Now, there are two things I do when I’m stressed out, and as to the first, I baked many, many things and ate many, many of these things. The second thing I do? I write.

So today, one month and one day after starting this new project inspired from all of that old writing, I hit my goal. You know why? Because it’s been a bad month. I don’t know that this is, yet, a good novel, but it’s nearly done, and I’m actually happy about that.

Screenshot 2014 06 21 15 55 43

This entry was posted in jobs, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to But, life, what if you don’t like lemonade?

  1. Kristen says:

    I am so excited for you! I would happily serve as a beta reader, if you need volunteers!

    • Jenn K says:

      Yes. Definitely. I’m targeting end of the summer for a draft that’s revised enough I feel it makes sense. Also, I’m revising my silly mystery that takes place at a fictionalized location you’re very familiar with. I might call you in on that one, too, if you’re up for it.

Leave a Reply

