Quickly: Quick Bread #2/50

I had to take something for an informal lunch-time potluck. I wanted to bake because I’d had a bad day. I also didn’t want to pile on to the sweet-overload I knew awaited us all at this meeting (because everyone in this department is having a bad day). So, I turned to my 50 Quick Breads booklet, and I found the savory savior: #45, Buffalo Quick Bread.

45. Make Parmesan-Herb Bread (No. 42), omitting the Parmesan and herbs. Add 3/4 cup shredded Jack cheese, 1 teaspoon smoked paprika and 1/2 teaspoon celery seeds to the dry ingredients. Add 2 tablespoons Buffalo hot sauce to the wet ingredients. Sprinkle 1/4 cup shredded Jack cheese over the warm bread.

I admit, I saw bread that contained Buffalo Hot Sauce and I was skeptical. I shouldn’t have been. This bread is very tasty.

I made only one substitution: I used pepper jack cheese instead of plain jack cheese. That, I think, was a good call, but I’m sure regular jack would be just as good. I think the vinegary hot sauce changes the texture a little, and the bread tastes almost a little grainier than the usual quick bread. This could also be because it’s the color of cornbread.

Either way, definitely good. I would make this again.

Another note: the smoked paprika is VITAL here. Do not substitute regular stuff. Please. Please.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

